Nelson, BC (February 11, 2016)On day two of the 2016 Canadian Direct Insurance BC Men’s Curling Championship only two teams remain undefeated – Team Johnson and Team Cotter.

Michael Johnson’s Royal City rink of third Chris Baier, second Ty Dillelo and lead Mitch Young defeated Team Schneider 4-3, Team Joanisse 6-3 and Team Craig 6-4 to earn the chance to qualify for the playoffs.

They face the Vernon/Kelowna rink of five-time B.C Men’s champion Jim Cotter, featuring third Ryan Kuhn, second Tyrel Griffith and lead Rick Sawatsky. The Cotter rink defeated Team House, Team Martyn and Team Jackson to earn the spot.

The two teams will play tonight at 7 p.m. with the winner advancing to the page playoff on Saturday at 2 p.m. The loser will drop down to the B Event to fight for another playoff spot.

A total of 16 teams qualified for the 2016 Canadian Direct Insurance BC Men’s Curling Championship. The event is a triple knockout, with some teams facing elimination from the competition today (Thursday).

The overall winner of the event will represent B.C. at the Tim Hortons Brier in Ottawa (March 5-13).

The semi finals and finals of this year’s championship, will be televised on Sportsnet on Sunday, February 14. The semi finals will be televised at 11 a.m. on Sportsnet Pacific and the finals will be televised at 4 p.m. on Sportsnet 360.


With only one loss, Teams Craig, Jackson and Montgomery, all from Victoria Curling Centre are still in contention for a B Event qualification. Also in contention is Team Richard, from Kelowna, Team Ducharme, from Creston, Team Wenzek, from Langley/Royal City, Team Buchy from Kimberley and Team Geall from Royal City.

The other teams still playing for a spot include Team Longworth, from Vernon Curling Club, Team Dangerfield, from Victoria Curling Centre, Team Martyn, from Royal City Curling Club, Team Joanisse, from Royal City Curling Club, Team Schneider, from Vancouver Curling Club and Team House, from Richmond Curling Club.


2016 Canadian Direct Insurance BC Men’s Curling Championship

Team Buchy (Kimberley Curling Club)

Skip: Tom Buchy – KimberleyThird: Deane Horning – Castlegar Second: Dave Toffolo – Kimberley Lead: Darren Will – Fernie

Team Cotter (Vernon/Kelowna Curling Clubs)

Skip: Jim Cotter – Vernon Third: Ryan Kuhn – Vernon Second: Tyrel Griffith – Kelowna Lead: Rick Sawatsky – Kelowna Coach: Pat Ryan

Team Craig (Victoria Curling Centre)

Skip: Wes Craig – Shawnigan LakeThird: Scott Macdonald – Shawnigan Lake  Second: Tony Anslow – Victoria  Lead: Victor Gamble – Duncan  Coach: Roselyn Craig

Team Dangerfield (Victoria Curling Centre)

Skip: Neil Dangerfield – Victoria Third: Denis Sutton – Victoria Second: Darren Boden – Victoria Lead: Glen Allen – Victoria

Team Ducharme (Creston Curling Club)

Skip: Chris Ducharme – Wynndel Third: Josh Firman – Creston Second: Jim Stewart – Creston Lead: Jim Macaulay –  Creston Fifth: Brendan Stead – Erickson

Team Geall (Royal City Curling Club)

Skip: Sean Geall – Abbotsford Third: Andrew Bilesky – New Westminster Second: Steve Kopf – Port Coquitlam  Lead: Mark Olson – Surrey Fifth: Aaron Watson – Delta Coach: Neil Houston

Team House (Richmond Curling Club)

Skip: Will House – Vancouver Third: Kelly McQuiggan – Vancouver Second: Greg Davis – Vancouver Lead: Thomas Sayer – Vancouver Coach: Terry Bublitz

Team Jackson (Victoria Curling Centre)

Skip: Glen Jackson – Victoria Third: Andrew Komlodi – Victoria Second: Corey Chester – Victoria Lead: Joel Cave – Victoria

Team Joanisse (Royal City Curling Club)

Skip: Dean Joanisse – AbbotsfordThird: Paul Cseke – Vancouver Second: Jay Wakefield – Vancouver Lead: John Cullen – Vancouver Coach: Brett Kury

Team Johnson (Royal City Curling Club)

Skip: Michael Johnson – Surrey  Third: Chris Baier – Victoria Second: Ty Dilello – Surrey Lead: Mitch Young – New Westminster

 Team Longworth (Vernon Curling Club)

Skip: Mark Longworth –  Vernon Third: Michael Longworth –  Vernon Second: Blaine Black –  Penticton Lead: John Slattery –  Vernon

Team Martyn (Royal City Curling Club)

Skip: Chase Martyn – Burnaby Third: Cody Johnston – Vancouver  Second: Jeff Guignard – Vancouver Lead: Will Sutton – Vancouver Coach: Karen Watson

Team Montgomery (Victoria Curling Centre)

Skip: Jason Montgomery – Shawnigan Lake Third: Miles Craig – Shawnigan Lake Second: Cameron de Jong – Victoria Lead: Dave McGarry – Lake Country

Team Richard (Kelowna Curling Club)

Skip: Jeff Richard – Lake Country Third: Ted Appelman – Edmonton Second: Bryan Kedziora – Maple Ridge Lead: David Harper – Kelowna Fifth: Tom Shypitka – Cranbrook Coach: Gerry Richard

Team Schneider (Vancouver Curling Club)

Skip: Stephen Schneider – Vancouver Third: Jamie Sexton – Vernon Second: Shawn Eklund – Vancouver Lead: Brant Amos – Vancouver Team Wenzek (Langley/Royal City curling clubs)Last rocks: Daniel Wenzek – Burnaby Third: Jordan Tardi – Surrey Second: Fred Thomson – NelsonLead/holding broom: Nicholas Meister – Langley