Congratulations to winners of PCMCA-BCIMCA Playdowns

Pacific Coast Masters Curling Association

Kelowna Curling Club hosted dozens of curling teams from the Pacific Coast Masters Curling Association (PCMCA) and the BC Interior Masters Curling Association (BCIMCA) for a five days of competition.

The PCMCA-BCIMCA Combined Playdowns for the season ran from March 14-18, with trophies awarded to the winning teams from each association as well as overall (combined) winners.

In addition, Dale Gregory, a long-time volunteer with the PCMCA, was honoured at the event. After consultation between both organizations, starting in the 2016/17 season, the PCMCA/BCIMCA Combined Shield will be known as The Dale Gregory Shield (Overall Combined 70+ Champion BCIMCA-PCMCA).


In the Men’s 60+ the champions were:

PCMCA GUY PHILP Trophy (60+ Champion of the PCMCA) went to Bruce Feltham team of Qualicum. This team won all of its round-robin games against PCMCA opponents.

BCIMCA WALTER HOBBS Trophy (60 +Champion of the BCIMCA) went to the Gord Duplisse team of Salmon Arm. Curling versus BCIMCA opponents, the Duplisse team had two wins and then a tie (vs. the Abrey team). The Abrey team had the identical record. With the tie game having occurred against each other it was absolutely a dead heat. A Shootout was needed. It was won by the Duplisse team.

PCMCA/BCIMCA JACK McALLISTER Trophy (Overall Combined 60+ Champion BCIMCA-PCMCA) went to the Dale Abrey team of Summerland. In the overall competition the Abrey team was undefeated in its games vs all PCMCA and BCIMCA teams with six wins and one tie. No other team was undefeated.

In the Men’s 70+ the champions were:

BCIMCA Grand Master Shield (70+ Champion of the BCIMCA) went to the Al Tholl team of Creston. The Tholl team won all three of its games versus BCIMCA teams and claimed the Grand Master Shield.

PCMCA Graham Donaldson Shield (70+ Champion of the PCMCA) and the PCMCA/BCIMCA Combined Shield (Overall Combined 70+ Champion BCIMCA-PCMCA) went to the Lynn Wilson team of Glen Meadows (Saanich). The Wilson team had six wins and one loss. It won all of its three games agains PCMCA teams and this clinched the Graham Donaldson Shield. It had only one loss in the seven games of the Combined round-robin and therefore achieved the championship in the Overall competition. Interestingly, the Lonsberry team of Langley, had an impressive five wins, finishing second in the Overall competition. Ironically, it had its one loss and one tie versus PCMCA teams, keeping it second in both competitions.


In the Ladies event, the champions were:

BCIMCA Ladies Award went to the Bev Skinner team of Summerland. There was a bye in the BCIMCA field with no representative from its Zone 2. As a result, each team curled versus two other BCIMCA teams in the round-robin. The Skinner team achieved the BCIMCA title with one win and one tie.

PCMCA Ladies Award and the PCMCA/BCIMCA Ladies Award went to the Karen Lepine team of Langley. The Lepine team had its only loss versus the Skinner team of the BCIMCA and therefore became the Champion of the PCMCA and the Overall Champion of the PCMCA/BCIMCA.


In the Mixed event the champions were:

BCIMCA Mixed Curling Award went to the Dan Martell team of Kelowna. The Martell team was undefeated in its round-robin games versus BCIMCA teams with two wins and one tie. The Skrenek team of Vernon was also undefeated, but with one win and two ties, so the BCIMCA Mixed Curling Chamionship went to the Martell team.

PCMCA Mixed Curling Award and the PCMCA/BCIMCA Mixed Curling Award went to the Jack Holden team of Comox. The Holden team won all of its games versus PCMCA teams and had its only loss versus the Yip team of Kelowna. Therefore it achieved both the PCMCA and the overall PCMCA/BCIMCA titles.

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!