Marie-Philip Poulin Named Captain For National Womens Team

Marie Philip Poulin

Meghan Agosta and Meaghan Mikkelson to serve as alternate captains for the IIHF Women’s World Championship in Kamloops, B.C.; Canada set to open the championship against the United States on Monday night

KAMLOOPS, B.C. – Forward Marie-Philip Poulin, will captain Canada’s National Women’s Team on home soil at the 2016 IIHF Women’s World Championship from March 28-April 4.

The 25-year-old from Beauceville, Que., captained Canada at the 2015 4 Nations Cup in Kamloops, and 2015 IIHF Women’s World Championship in Malmö, Sweden. Poulin is a two-time Olympic gold medallist (2010, 2014) and currently plays with the CWHL’s Montreal Canadiennes.

“Being named captain is an honour and a privilege,” said Poulin. “I remember watching the world championship and the Olympics and knowing that I’m wearing the ‘C’ like Cassie Campbell, Caroline Ouellette and Hayley Wickenheiser and all the players before me, I think it’s quite amazing.  There are so many pioneers that have worn it, so I’m trying to follow in their footsteps.”

The leadership group will include Meghan Agosta (Ruthven, Ont.), Brianne Jenner (Oakville, Ont./Calgary, CWHL), Laura Fortino (Hamilton, Ont./Brampton, CWHL) Meaghan Mikkelson (St. Albert, Alta./Calgary, CWHL) and Natalie Spooner (Scarborough, Ont./Toronto, CWHL). Agosta and Mikkelson will serve as alternate captains on ice wearing the A’s for the duration of the championship. 

“We have so much depth and leadership on this team and it’s important for us to continue to build and develop our players by giving them the opportunity to guide our squad,” said Laura Schuler, head coach of Canada’s National Women’s Team. “Our team is confident that this group of players models the leadership qualities that come with wearing the Maple Leaf.”

Canada is playing host to the eight-team world championship and opens the 2016 IIHF Women’s World Championship against the United States on Monday at 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET; it will also face Russia (March 29) and Finland (March 31) in preliminary-round action. Both the bronze- and gold-medal games will be played April 4.

Hockey Canada broadcast partner TSN will broadcast 11 tournament games, and RDS will air eight games, including all Team Canada match-ups. Please consult local listings for details.

The 2016 IIHF Women’s World Championship is the 17th since the tournament’s 1990 inception. Canada’s National Women’s Team has appeared in every world championship gold medal game, winning 10 gold medals (1990, 1992, 1994, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2004, 2007 and 2012) and six silver (2005, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2013 and 2015).        

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!