Huskies netminder Jordan Cooke

The nation’s top goaltender, Jordon Cooke

The Canada West Outstanding Athletes of the Year in their respective sports, Laura Dally and Jordon Cooke have been named University of Saskatchewan Huskie Athletics’ female and male athletes of the year.

Laura Dally basketball

Laura Dally

Dally is the second women’s basketball player in the last three years to win the award after Dalyce Emmerson was the winner in 2014. Cooke is also the second men’s hockey player to be named the Huskies top male athlete in the past three seasons. Derek Hulak was the last winner from the team in 2014.

Canada West women’s basketball MVP Laura Dally helped lead the Huskie women’s basketball team to their first ever CIS Championship. The Kinesiology student from Bright’s Grove, Ont. averaged 17.2 points per game and was named a tournament all-star at the CIS Final 8 in addition to her appointment as a CIS First Team All-Canadian.

The nation’s top goaltender, Jordon Cooke, also received the award for the conference’s most outstanding player after helping the Huskies win a Canada West Championship. The second-year Arts & Science student from Leduc, AB was leaned upon all season and was pivotal in the Huskies University Cup run. At the CIS Championship he was named the tournament’s top goaltender after being honoured earlier in the weekend as the CIS Goaltender of the Year and a First Team All-Canadian.

Huskie Athletics handed out five other major awards at the annual Huskie Salute Friday night at TCU Place. The event also featured the achievements of the athletes of the University of Saskatchewan’s 15 CIS teams. Canada West and CIS All-Stars/All-Canadians and award winners, along with fifth-year athletes were also honoured at the celebration.

A pair of CIS Rookie’s of the Year also earned the Huskie Athletics Rookie of the Year trophies.

CJ Gavlas was awarded the Howard Nixon Trophy for Male Rookie of the Year after setting the men’s volleyball team to a Canada West silver medal. The Arts & Science student from Saskatoon was awarded the Canada West and CIS Rookie of the Year awards and was named to the All-Rookie Team at both the conference and national level.

Kiera Prior earned the silver medal at the CIS wrestling championships and was named the CIS Female Rookie of the Year. Prior’s silver medal was in addition to her silver medal at the Canada West Championships. The Arts & Science student from Saskatoon finished no lower than fourth in any tournament all season. 

Basketball post player Dalyce Emmerson was the winner of the Valerie Girsberger Trophy handed to an upper year Female All-Round Athlete. The men’s version of the award, the Rusty MacDonald Cup, went to  track and field’s Jared Olson.

A two-time Canada West Champion and now CIS Champion Dalyce Emmerson capped off her historic career in style. Emmerson was a three-time CIS All-Canadian and leaves the program second in rebounding, third in scoring and the all-time blocked shots leader. The Kinesiology student from Prince Albert, SK was named a conference all-star and appeared at the CIS Championship in four of her five seasons. Emmerson was the Canada West MVP and Defensive Player of the Year in 2013.

Emmerson was an All-Academic for the Huskies and volunteered at various events in the community such as Kin Spin, Tim Hortons’ Camp Day, Lace up for Diabetes and was a coach with the Junior Huskies program.

Jared Olson was the 2016 CIS & Canada West men’s 60m hurdles champion. Olson shared the title of CIS and Conference champion with his 4x200m relay teammates. The Business student has developed as a leader during his career with the Huskies. Olson has also been a steady veteran presence away from the track, helping tutor and mentor younger teammates.

The Saskatoon native volunteers with many community track and field events and is always quick to step up and volunteer for his squad at various events. Olson has served on the Huskie Athletic Council for the past two seasons.

The Colb McEwon Trophy for Coach of the Year was handed to women’s basketball coach Lisa Thomaidis.

In his 17th-year at the helm of the Huskies, Lisa Thomaidis led the team to its first ever CIS Championship. Thomaidis was named the Canada West Coach of the Year for the fifth time after guiding the team to an 18-2 record and their fourth conference title. Thomaidis has taken the Huskies to seven of the last eight CIS Championships.

Huskie Athletics also handed out the Dr. Walter Hader Student Trainer of the Year Award. The trophy given annually to a student trainer who displays dedicated volunteer service to Huskie Athletics and shows promise in the pursuit of a career in sports medicine was won by wrestling’s Lisa Rystephanuk and Track and Field’s Stephen Hutton.

More than 350 athletes, fans, sponsors, alumni and supporters gathered at TCU Place to celebrate the special event.

A list of previous Huskie Athletics Major Seven Award winners can be found at:

Major Seven Award Winners:

Patricia Lawson Trophy Female Rookie of the Year – Kiera Prior, wrestling

Howard Nixon Trophy Male Rookie of the Year – CJ Gavlas, volleyball

E. Kent Phillips Trophy Male Athlete of the Year – Jordon Cooke, hockey

Mary Ethel Cartwright Trophy Female Athlete of the Year – Laura Dally, basketball

Rusty McDonald Cup All-Round Male – Jared Olson, track & field

Valerie Girsberger All-Round Female – Dalyce Emmerson, basketball

Colb McEwon Trophy Coach of the Year – Lisa Thomaidis, women’s basketball

Trainer of the Year – Lisa Rystephanuk & Stephen Hutton