Big Ten Mens Gymnastics

Conference announces postseason honors and All-Big Ten teams

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Individual event winners were crowned on the second day of the Big Ten Men’s Gymnastics Championships, which concluded with the conference announcing the All-Big Ten teams and postseason award winners. Event titles were claimed by gymnasts from four schools, including champions from Illinois, Michigan, Ohio State and Penn State.

Ohio State claimed three event titles at the 2016 Big Ten Men’s Gymnastics Championships. The Buckeyes’ Sean Melton won the floor exercise competition (15.450) and the parallel bars (16.175) and Alec Yoder claimed the pommel horse title (15.225). Penn State’s Trevor Howard won the high bar with a score of 14.575 and Michigan’s Anthony McCallum won the vault with a score of 15.675. Illinois’ Alex Diab claimed the still rings title, posting a score of 15.125.

The individual award winners and All-Big Ten teams were announced following competition on Saturday. Ohio State swept all three awards with Sean Melton earning Big Ten Gymnast of the Year honors, Alec Yoder claiming Big Ten Freshman of the Year accolades and Rustam Sharipov garnering Coach of the Year recognition.

The All-Big Ten teams, individual award winners and sportsmanship award honorees can be found below.

2016 All-Big Ten Teams

First Team

Alex Diab, Illinois

Matthew Loochtan, Iowa

Emyre Cole, Michigan

Anthony McCallum, Michigan

Tristan Duran, Minnesota

Justin Karstadt, Minnesota

Sean Melton, Ohio State

Alec Yoder, Ohio State

Trevor Howard, Penn State

Second Team

Matthew Foster, Illinois

Brandon Ngai, Illinois

Johnny Jacobson, Illinois

Anthony Stefanelli, Michigan

Danny DiBenedetto, Minnesota

Daniel Leal, Nebraska

Seth Delbridge, Ohio State

Alex Johnson, Ohio State

Individual Awards
Big Ten Gymnast of the Year: Sean Melton, Ohio State

Big Ten Freshman of the Year: Alec Yoder, Ohio State

Big Ten Coach of the Year: Rustam Sharipov, Ohio State

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Alex Diab, Illinois

Douglas Sullivan, Iowa

Emyre Cole, Michigan

Paul Montague Jr., Minnesota

Connor Adamsick, Nebraska

Alex Johnson, Ohio State

Leroy Clarke Jr., Penn State