hockey canada

Canada settles for fourth place at IIHF U18 World Championship

GRAND FORKS, N.D. – Canada’s National Men’s Under-18 Team closed out the 2016 IIHF U18 World Championship on Sunday afternoon, dropping a 10-3 decision to the United States in the bronze-medal game at Ralph Engelstad Arena.

Will Bitten (Ottawa, Ont./Flint, OHL), Connor Hall (Cambridge, Ont./Kitchener, OHL) and Owen Tippett (Peterborough, Ont./Mississauga, OHL) had the goals for the Canadians, who trailed 6-1 after one period.

Hall finished with a goal and an assist, and Mason Shaw (Wainwright, Alta./Medicine Hat, WHL) and Beck Malenstyn (Delta, B.C./Calgary, WHL) added two helpers apiece.

“We were a very emotional group today. I thought the first few minutes were good and then when the first puck went in, we really struggled to regain our composure and structure for the rest of the game,” said head coach Shaun Clouston (Viking, Alta./Medicine Hat, WHL). “There were bits and pieces, but in general it was a real challenging game for everybody. But give credit to the U.S., they were very good offensively and they made it tough on us defensively.”

“Any time you get to put that maple leaf across your chest it’s special. You’re with world-class players and coaches, you learn so much from them over these three weeks. It’s a prestigious program and so humbling anytime you get named,” said Tyson Jost (Kelowna, B.C./Penticton, BCHL). “It’s upsetting because we wanted to do so much more and give back and win that gold medal for our country but we fell short and we’re definitely going to learn a lot from this experience. Again, they do such a great job developing and preparing us.”

Canada has won seven medals at the IIHF U18 World Championship, including three gold medals (2003, 2008 and 2013), but missed the podium for the first time since 2011.



Players and staff will return to their final destinations on Monday, April 25. See below for specific flight itineraries for Canada’s players and staff. Information is listed alphabetically by city.

Flight information may change without notice, please note that all arrival times are LOCAL time.

Edmonton, Alta. / WS151 / 7:52 a.m.

Ryan Smyth (management group)

Edmonton, Alta. / AC8515 / 1:09 p.m.

Tyson Jost, David Quenneville, Mason Shaw, Stuart Skinner, Serge Lajoie (assistant coach)

Fort Lauderdale, Fla. / DL4829 / 2:34 p.m.

Jakob Chychrun

Halifax, N.S. / AC8524 / 6:01 p.m.

Evan Fitzpatrick, Jim Midgley (video coach)

Medicine Hat, Alta. / AC8337 / 4:00 p.m.

Shaun Clouston (head coach)

Montreal, Que. / AC1102 / 3:25 p.m.

Maxime Comtois, Pascal Laberge

Ottawa, Ont. / AC8524 / 2:52 p.m.

William Bitten, Fred Brathwaite (goaltending consultant)

Regina, Sask. / AC8349 / 5:17 p.m.

Noah Gregor, Brett Howden

Sault Ste. Marie, Ont. / AC264 / 6:19 p.m.

Boris Katchouk

Toronto, Ont. / WS546 / 2:38 p.m.

Markus Phillips, Logan Stanley, Jarrod Skalde (assistant coach)

Toronto, Ont. / AC266 / 5:35 p.m.

Nicolas Hague, Connor Hall, Jordan Kyrou, Michael McLeod, Cameron Morrison, Owen Tippett

Vancouver, B.C. / AC8046 / 2:40 p.m.

Dante Fabbro, Beck Malenstyn

Windsor, Ont. / AC266 / 7:36 p.m.

Michael DiPietro