James Madison lacrosse

Madison will be the top seed in the 2016 CAA Women’s Lacrosse

RICHMOND, Va. – James Madison will be the top seed in the 2016 CAA Women’s Lacrosse Championship bracket, which was finalized on Saturday. The event, which will take place on the campus of Drexel University, gets underway with semifinals on Friday, May 6, followed by the title game on Sunday, May 8.

The winner of the CAA Women’s Lacrosse Championship will earn the league’s automatic bid into the NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Championship.

James Madison and Towson shared the CAA regular-season title with identical 5-1 league records. The Dukes, however, earned the championship’s top seed by virtue of their head-to-head victory over the Tigers on April 24.

The regular-season titles mark the ninth in James Madison history and the sixth for Towson. The two programs have also combined to win 12 of the past 13 CAA Championship crowns, including the Dukes’ run in 2015.

Towson enters the championship 12-3 overall, while JMU is 9-8. The Tigers were ranked 19th and 20th, respectively, in the most recent national polls.

Friday’s first semifinal will pit top-seeded James Madison against No. 4 seed Drexel, which beat Hofstra in its regular-season finale on Saturday to earn the bracket’s final spot. The Dragons enter the postseason at 10-6 overall and went 3-3 in conference play. Game time is set for 1 p.m. on CAA.tv.

The championship’s second semifinal will see No. 2 seed Towson taking on third-seeded Elon at 3:30 p.m. on CAA.tv. The Phoenix completed their regular season with an 11-6 overall record and a 3-3 league mark.

Sunday’s title game is scheduled for 1:30 p.m., and will be broadcast live on the American Sports Network and CAA.tv.

Every game of the 2016 CAA Women’s Lacrosse Championship will take place at Drexel’s Vidas Field. 

2016 CAA Women’s Lacrosse Championship


Semifinals – May 6 (CAA.tv)

No. 1 James Madison vs. No. 4 Drexel, 1 p.m.

No. 2 Towson vs. No. 3 Elon, 3:30 p.m.

Final – May 8 (ASN/CAA.tv)

Semifinal 1 Winner vs. Semifinal 2 Winner, 1:30 p.m.