Team BC males win 2016 NAHC

team bc

Male Team BC Wins 2016 National Aboriginal Hockey Championships

Team BC went undefeated this past week to take the national title at the 2016 National Aboriginal Hockey Championships (2016 NAHC), held May 1-7 in Mississauga, Ontario. Team BC defeated Team North in the gold medal game held Saturday evening.
“We are so proud to bring the gold medal back home to BC,” said Head Coach Joe Quewezance.  “The hard work, dedication, and the team dynamics were all incredible.  Each year we are impressed by the number of young talented Aboriginal hockey players in BC.  Once the team was selected, we were confident our team was going to be a strong contender.”
Team BC advanced from the round robin ranked first overall with convincing wins over Team Atlantic, Team Alberta, and Team North. In the quarterfinals, Team BC beat Saskatchewan 6-2, earning a spot in the semi-finals against Team Manitoba.  The semi-final thriller ended when Duncan’s Keenan Eddy scored 2:00 minutes into overtime giving BC a 3-2 victory. The gold medal game featured a Team North rematch.  Team BC dominated the game through an entire team effort both offensively and defensively resulting in an impressive 3-0 win.    

Aboriginal Hockey

Team BC – NAHC is a program of the Aboriginal Sport, Recreation & Physical Activity Partners Council (Partners Council) and sanctioned by BC Hockey.  The program provides an opportunity for the Province’s top Midget age male and female Aboriginal hockey players to compete at the National Championships, which celebrates sport excellence as well as cultural unity and pride. 
“This program is about more than elite hockey as it develops future leaders both on and off the ice,” noted Assistant Coach (and Assembly of First Nations Regional Chief) Shane Gottfriedson. “This program is proof that investing in Aboriginal sport not only results in gold medals but also influences the way our communities see sport as a means for health and wellness.”
Other notable Team BC highlights from the 2016 NAHC included the female team’s fourth place finish. In the bronze medal game, they lost by a score of 2-1 in overtime against Manitoba. It was the female team’s best result in eight years. Team BC’s male defenseman Jeremy Gervais was awarded player of the game for the gold medal game; defenseman Austin Crossley was named a 2016 NAHC Tournament All-Star; and BC’s Jake Gudjonson was awarded Most Sportsmanlike.
The Partners Council and its Provincial Hockey Committee would like to acknowledge the Aboriginal Sports & Wellness Council of Ontario and its volunteers for hosting the event and to also thank all of Team BC’s fans and supporters.  Congratulations to Team BC for their outstanding performance at 2016 National Aboriginal Hockey Championships.
Team BC (Male) Roster

# Last Name First Name YOB Hometown Position L/R HT WT 2015/16 Hockey Club
1 Virgo Kaleb 2000 Kamloops Goaltender L 5’11 160 Kamloops Midget Tier 2 Elks
2 Patsey Joel 1999 Prince George Defense L 6’2 200 Prince George Cariboo Cougars – BCMML
3 DeBruyn Dylan 1999 Chilliwack Defense R 6’1 165 Fraser Valley Thunderbirds – BCMML
4 Gervais Brevin 2000 Prince George Defense L 6′ 0 175 Prince George Midget Tier 1 Cougars
5 Russell Landon 1999 Mission Defense R 6’0 165 Abbotsford Pilots – PJHL
6 Gervais Jeremy 1999 Prince George Defense L 5’10 160 Prince George Cariboo Cougars – BCMML
7 Crossley Austin 1999 Fort St. John Defense L 6’0 205 Kamloops Storm – KIJHL
8 Loring Cory 1999 Alexis Creek Forward R 6’1 185 Williams Lake Tier 2 Timberwolves
9 Harris Darian 1998 Ladysmith Forward L 5’8 179 Orangeville Ice Crushers
10 McLean Spencer 1998 Montrose Forward L 5′ 9 165 Trail Smoke Eaters – BCHL
11 Gudjonson Jake 1999 Golden Forward R 5’11 160 Golden Rockets – KIJHL
12 Wullum Logan 1998 Creston Forward L 5′ 8 160 Creston Valley Thundercats – KIJHL
13 Brant Ty 2001 Duncan Defense L 5’9 145 Shawnigan Lake School
14 Eddy Keenan 1998 Duncan Forward L 5’10 190 Kerry Park Islanders – VIJHL
16 DuBois Chase 1998 Williams Lake Forward R 5’9 145 Prince George Cariboo Cougars – BCMML
18 Ghostkeeper Tyson 1998 Prince George Forward L 5’11 170 Prince George Midget Tier 1 Cougars
19 DuBois Daine 1999 Williams Lake Forward L 5’9 165 Prince George Cariboo Cougars – BCMML
21 Delorme Haydn 2000 Port Moody Forward R 5’11 171 North East Chiefs Coquitlam – BCMML
22 Ignace Ryan 1998 Savona Forward L 5’10 170 Sicamous Eagles – KIJHL
23 Joe Ethan 2000 Vernon Defense L 6′ 1 230 Vernon Midget Vipers
30 Paul Daniel 1998 West Kelowna Goaltender L 5’10 185 North Okanagan Knights – KIJHL

Head Coach – Joe Quewezance, Kelowna, BC
Asst. Coach – Shane Gottfriedson, Kamloops, BC
Asst. Coach – Kevin Ned, Westbank, BC
Manager – Tana Mussell, Chilliwack, BC
Trainer – Ben Guidolin, Vancouver, BC