1981-82 Vikettes basketball team inducted To Hall Of Fame

1981Basketball vikettes

Basketball BC recognized the 1981-82 Vikettes basketball team at their annual awards dinner Saturday night (Richmond, B.C.)

VICTORIA – The 1981-82 Vikettes basketball team was inducted into the Basketball BC Hall of Fame at an annual awards dinner Saturday night in Richmond, B.C.


The event marked the second Hall of Fame induction for the group, as they were also recognized by the UVic Sports Hall of Fame in 2012. The team was inducted alongside an impressive list of individuals, including Hank Rowe, Ralph Henderson, Eleanor Whyte, Peter Colistro, Don Horwood, Mike McNeill and two-time NBA MVP Steve Nash.

The 1981-82 Vikettes were part of a dominant group of women’s basketball teams at UVic that combined for four national championships in the 1980s. After putting together a regular season record of 19-1, the Vikettes won their third straight Canada West championship banner and sixth in seven years, sweeping the Saskatchewan Huskies in the final best-of-three series.

In the 1982 CIAU national championship, the Vikettes outscored their competition by a total of 223-127. Luanne Hebb was dominant in the tournament, leading the team in points and total rebounds. For her efforts, she was named CIAU tournament most valuable player (MVP), CIAU First-Team All-Canadian and 1982 CIAU player of the year.

The 1981-82 team was led by legendary coach Kathy Shields, who was in her fourth season as head coach. The 11-member squad featured nine players from the previous national championship winning team in 1980-81.

1981-82 Women’s Basketball Team Roster

Luanne Hebb

Susie Neil

Sue Shaw

Sandy Chambers

Shelley Godfrey

Jamie Mackie

Tracie McAra

Janine Prince

Shawnee Harle

Leslie Godfrey

Sandy Espeseth

Kathy Shields (Head Coach)
Pam Balfour (Manager)

UVic Achievements
– 1981-82 Canada West Champions
– 1981-82 CIAU (CIS) National Champions (UVic’s 3rd straight/3rd overall)
– Regular Season record of 19-1 (24-1 overall)
– Outscored opponents 1582-974 in regular season
– Outscored opponents 223-127 at CIAU National Championships
– 1977 Robert T. Wallace Shield Award recipient: Shelley Godfrey
– 1978 Robert T. Wallace Shield Award recipient: Luanne Hebb

– Canada West 1st team All-Star: Luanne Hebb, Tracie McAra
– CIAU Tournament All-Stars: Tracie McAra, Luanne Hebb, Leslie Godfrey
– CIAU Player of the Year and CIAU First Team All-Canadian: Luanne Hebb
– CIAU CIAU Championship final player of the Game: Tracie McAra

International Achievements
– Kathy Shields: Coached the Canadian Women’s national team from 1981-94
– Luanne Hebb: Women’s National team member from 1979-81
– Tracie McAra: Women’s National team member from 1981-86
– 1984 Olympics: Tracie McAra