Commonwealth Games Launches the Canada Commonwealth Cup


With a prize purse of $72,500 awarded annually to the top Canadian Commonwealth Men and Women athletes or teams

OTTAWA – TodayCommonwealth Games Canada (CGC) announced the launch of the Canada Commonwealth Cup, a trophy with cash prizes awarded annually to Canada’s top Commonwealth athletes and/or teams.As the founder and four-time host of the Commonwealth Games, Canada remains strongly committed to the Commonwealth sport movement and with the introduction of the Canada Commonwealth Cup, CGC reaffirms its commitment to recognizing and supporting  Canada’s top Commonwealth athletes.

“The Canadian Commonwealth Cup is an exciting new program that will reward our top athletes”, said Richard Powers, President of Commonwealth Games Canada. “I am especially proud of the fact that, in line with our Commonwealth values, this program includes para-athletes, as well as offers equal prize money to men and women.” Canadian national senior athletes and teams from sports in the upcoming Commonwealth Games are eligible for the program. Cup points are awarded based on athlete’s finishes at international competitions and tallied during the calendar year, January 1st to December 31st. The first Canada Commonwealth Cup and cash prizes will be awarded in January, 2017. 

Currently leading the Canada Commonwealth Cup Standings are:

1    Jasmin Glaesser   Cycling           2100
TJennifer Abel   Diving                   1640                      
TAurelie Rivard  Para-Swimming  1640                      

TTristen Chernove   Para-Cycling   2000
TFrancois Imbeau-Dulac   Diving    2000
3    Philippe Gagne   Diving                  1820

“I am so pleased to see CGC launch this reward program for Commonwealth athletes”, said Jennifer Abel, diver and member of the 2014 Canadian Commonwealth Games Team. “This additional financial support will be well received by all athletes who are preparing for the 2018 Commonwealth Games in Australia’s Gold Coast. I certainly hope to be there as a member of Canada’s Team!”