RBC Cup Updates After Preliminary Rounds

291
LLOYDMINSTER READY TO WELCOME RBC CUP

2016 RBC Cup, Lloydminster, Alta./Sask., May 14-22

The Trenton Golden Hawks, Brooks Bandits, West Kelowna Warriors, and Lloydminster Bobcats advanced to the semifinals at the 2016 RBC Cup after the conclusion of preliminary-round play on Thursday at the Centennial Civic Centre.

·      The Golden Hawks (3-0-1-0) finished atop the standings with 10 points, while the Bandits (3-0-0-1) took second with nine points. The Warriors (2-1-0-1) finished in third with eight points, while the host Bobcats (0-1-0-3) rounded out the top-four with two points. Complete standings, game results and schedule can be found here.

 

Game schedule for Saturday, May 21:

Semifinal #1: Lloydminster Bobcats vs. Trenton Golden Hawks, 2:30 p.m. MT/4:30 p.m. ET

Semifinal #2: West Kelowna Warriors vs. Brooks Bandits, 7:30 p.m. MT/ 9:30 p.m. ET

Viewers can watch both games live via webcast at HockeyCanada.ca/RBCCup.

 

Quotes:

“The goal was to finish first. In order to achieve that we needed to score more goals than they did and tonight we got in a bunch. I think we were just better prepared mentally than our previous game and it translated into better results.”

–      Jerome Dupont, head coach, Trenton Golden Hawks

 

“It was a tough game for us when there wasn’t a lot on the line for the players and we tried to stress the importance of home ice. I credit our guys for kind of staying in the moment and playing hard. I’m excited about being second, I think it’s great for us to be able to control the change and hopefully that’s part of our game plan.”

–      Ryan Papaioannou, head coach, Brooks Bandits

“You set goals when you come to a short-term competition, and the first goal is to make it to the final four. We’ve done that, so obviously the next one we play is an elimination game. It’s exciting, and we’ll be ready to go.”

–      Rylan Ferster, head coach, West Kelowna Warriors

“There’s no advantage to playing against the same team at all. What you saw tonight is not what you’re going to see Saturday from either side. At this stage our focus isn’t on Trenton, it’s getting what’s wrong with the Bobcats right before Saturday.”

–      Gord Thibodeau, head coach, Lloydminster Bobcats on facing the Golden Hawks again after Thursday night’s game

The championship game will be held Sunday, May 22, at 4 p.m. MT/6 p.m. ET and will air on TSN and RDS, Hockey Canada’s official broadcasters (check your local listings).

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!