Toronto, ON – The Canadian Hockey League today announced the nominees for the 10 major awards that will be presented at the annual CHL Awards Ceremony which takes place on Saturday May 28 as part of the 2016 MasterCard Memorial Cup festivities in Red Deer.
BRP Top Prospect Award:

Jake Bean (Calgary Hitmen)
Matthew Tkachuk (London Knights)
Pierre-Luc Dubois (Cape Breton Screaming Eagles)
Notable winners: Connor McDavid (Erie Otters 2015), Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (Red Deer Rebels 2011), Vincent Lecavalier (Rimouski Oceanic 1998).
Cavendish Top Scorer Award:
Adam Brooks (Regina Pats)
Kevin Labanc (Barrie Colts)
Conor Garland (Moncton Wildcats)
Notable winners: Linden Vey (Medicine Hat Tigers 2011), Patrick Kane (London Knights 2007), Sidney Crosby (Rimouski Oceanic 2004 and 2005).
Janes Sportsman of the Year Award:
Tyler Soy (Victoria Royals)
Mike Amadio (North Bay Battalion)
Samuel Girard (Shawinigan Cataractes)
Notable winners: Sam Reinhart (Kootenay Ice 2014), David Desharnais (Chicoutimi Sagueneens 2007), Jeff Carter (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds 2005).
All Weather Windows Humanitarian of the Year Award:
Tyler Wong (Lethbridge Hurricanes)
Will Petschenig (Saginaw Spirit)
Samuel Laberge (Rimouski Oceanic)
Notable winners: Ben Fanelli (Kitchener Rangers 2013), Colin Fraser (Red Deer Rebels 2005), Simon Gamache (Val-d’Or Foreurs 2000).
TVA Sports Scholastic Player of the Year Award:
Tanner Kaspick (Brandon Wheat Kings)
Nicolas Hague (Mississauga Steelheads)
Alexis D’Aoust (Shawinigan Cataractes)
Notable winners: Connor McDavid (Erie Otters 2014-15),  Josh Morrissey (Prince Albert Raiders 2013), Jonathan Brunelle (Cape Breton Screaming Eagles 2012).
Bumper to Bumper Brian Kilrea Coach of the Year Award:
Dave Lowry (Victoria Royals)
Kris Knoblauch (Erie Otters)
Gilles Bouchard (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)
Notable winners: Gerard Gallant (Saint John Sea Dogs 2010 and 2011), Peter DeBoer (Plymouth Whalers 2000), Ken Hitchcock (Kamloops Blazers 1990).
CCM Rookie of the Year Award:
Matthew Phillips (Victoria Royals)
Alexander Nylander (Mississauga Steelheads)
Vitalii Abramov (Gatineau Olympiques)
Notable winners: Nikolaj Ehlers (Halifax Mooseheads 2014), Patrick Kane (London Knights 2007), Brett Connolly (Prince George Cougars 2009).
Vaughn Goaltender of the Year Award:
Carter Hart (Everett Silvertips)
Mackenzie Blackwood (Barrie Colts)
Chase Marchand (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)
Notable winners: Jake Allen (Drummondville Voltigeurs 2010), Cam Ward (Tri-City Americans 2004), Ray Emery (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds 2002).
Arctic Spas Defenceman of the Year Award:
Ivan Provorov (Brandon Wheat Kings)
Mikhail Sergachev (Windsor Spitfires)
Samuel Girard (Shawinigan Cataractes)
Notable winners: Dougie Hamilton (Niagara IceDogs 2012), Keith Yandle (Moncton Wildcats 2006), Dan Hamhuis (Prince George Cougars 2002).
Rogers Player of the Year Award:
Dryden Hunt (Moose Jaw Warriors)
Mitchell Marner (London Knights)
Francis Perron (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)
Notable winners: Connor McDavid (Erie Otters 2015), Jordan Eberle (Regina Pats 2010), Sidney Crosby (Rimouski Oceanic 2004 and 2005).

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!