canada snowboard

Canada Snowboard is pleased to announce that 63 athletes have been named to the 2016/2017 national teams, including 26 athletes to the Development Groups and NextGen Program.

 18 male and 17 female athletes have been named to our Snowboardcross, Alpine, Para, Halfpipe and Slopestyle national teams. Additionally, 19 male and 9 female athletes will represent our NextGen program and development groups in Snowboardcross, Alpine, Para-snowboard, Halfpipe and Slopestyle.

Canadian riders will be looking to build off an outstanding 2015/2016 season, including multiple World Cup, X Games, FIS Junior World Championships, LAAX Open podiums as well as several NorAM titles.

Preparations for the 2018 PyeongChang Winter Olympics are well underway, with several Olympic and Paralympic test events taking place this upcoming season. Quebec City’s Snowboard Jamboree and the IPC World Championships at Big White will highlight the domestic calendar alongside both Canadian national championships: Sport Chek Air Nation presented by Burton and Sport Chek Speed Nation.

2016/2017 national teams, NextGen program and development groups:

Snowboardcross national team

Chris Robanske (Calgary, AB)
Kevin Hill (Vernon, BC)
Baptiste Brochu (Saguenay, QC)
Dominique Maltais (Petite-Riviere-St François, QC)
Tess Critchlow (Kelowna, BC)
Zoe Bergermann (Acton, ON)
Carle Brenneman (Comox, BC)
Katie Anderson (Jaffray, BC)
Meryeta O’Dine (Prince George, BC)

Snowboardcross development group

Tyler Jackson (Whitby, ON)
Will Malisch (Toronto, ON)
Evan Bichon (Prince George, BC)
Liam Moffat (Truro, NS)
Tayler Wilton (Collingwood, ON)
Danny Bourgeois (Rosemère, QC)
Indrik Trahan (Trois-Rivières, QC)

Alpine national team

Jasey-Jay Anderson (Mt Tremblant, QC)
Darren Gardner (Burlington, ON)
Sébastien Beaulieu (Sherbrooke, QC)
Megan Farrell (Richmond Hill, ON)
Katrina Gerencser (Burlington, ON)
Marianne Laurin-LaLonde (Montreal, QC)

Alpine development group

Jules Lefebvre (Montreal, QC)
Riley Kilmer-Choi (Oakville, ON)
Jennifer Hawkrigg (Toronto, ON)
Emma Van Groningen (Cambridge, ON)
Abby Van Groningen (Cambridge, ON)

Para-snowboard national team

John Leslie (Ottawa, ON)
Alex Massie (Barrie, ON)
Andrew Genge (Oshawa, ON)
Michelle Salt (Calgary, AB)

Para-snowboard development group

Daniel Showmaker (Banff, AB)
Curtis Minard (Vernon, BC)
Spencer Clough (Cambridge, ON)
Gerrit Van Bruggen (Calgary, AB)
Nathan Coyle (Surrey, BC)

Halfpipe national team

Derek Livingston (Aurora, ON)
Trevor Niblett (Toronto, ON)
Mercedes Nicoll (Whistler, BC)
Katie Tsuyuki (Toronto, ON)
Calynn Irwin (Toronto, ON)

Halfpipe development group

Gregor Zed (Calgary, AB)
Mikey Seguin (Calgary, AB)
Kira Lengkeek (Airdrie, AB)
Elizabeth Hosking (Longueuil, QC)
Adriane Cairns (Calgary, AB)

Slopestyle national team

Mark McMorris (Regina, SK)
Sébastien Toutant (Montreal, QC)
Max Parrot (Bromont, QC)
Tyler Nicholson (North Bay, ON)
Darcy Sharpe (Comox, BC)
Michael Ciccarelli (Ancaster, ON)
Max Eberhardt (North Bay, ON)
Spencer O’Brien (Vancouver, BC)
Jenna Blasman (Kitchener, ON)
Laurie Blouin (Stoneham, QC)
Gillian Andrewshenko (Winnipeg, MB)

Slopestyle NextGen program

Francis Jobin (Lac Beauport, QC)
Carter Jarvis (Calgary, AB)
Joshua Reeves (Calgary, AB)
Sean Miskiman (Calgary, AB)
Baily McDonald (Minesing, ON)
Océane Fillion (Saguenay, QC)