Jr. Shamrocks Honouring 1976 Minto Cup Winning team

jr shamrocks

A special ceremony taking place at Saturday’s Jr. Shamrocks game as they host the Coquitlam Adanacs 

By Janice Huckins

We will be honouring a number of players from the 1976 Minto Cup Winning Victoria McDonald’s Bread team.  Some of these players will be taking part at the WLA Shamrocks Alumni Night on Friday, but more will be coming out to the Jr. game as we celebrate 40 years since their win.  It was not the LAST Minto Cup won by a Victoria team as the 1988 Esquimalt Legion also brought home the cup.  Some of the players who we expect in attendance include Kevin Alexander, Bob Cool, Steve Buckley, Gerry Cadwallader, Roy Sinden, Tej Labh and a few others.  Also the owners of that team, John and Rhoda McDonald as well as trainer Rick Parent are expected.

It will be a big game for the Jr. Shamrocks as Coquitlam remains undefeated in the BCJALL.  Game time is 5:00 pm.  Prior to that, the Intermediate Shamrocks, fighting for top spot in their league, will take on the New Westminster Salmonbellies at the Q Centre.  That game starts at 1:30 pm.