PGA of British Columbia Honours BC Legends

pga of bc logo2


The PGA of British Columbia is proud to announce a program that will recognize legends in British Columbia through the Association’s annual Awards Program. The naming of thirteen of the fifteen awards highlights successes of those who have excelled and had dramatic impacts on our industry in their respective field.
“This was a great way for us to be able to honour, recognize and bring light to the achievements of many of the greats throughout the history of golf in British Columbia,” said Donald Miyazaki, Executive Director of the PGA of BC. “So many of these individuals were instrumental in shaping our industry and served as mentors to many PGA Professionals that continue to pass down their knowledge to others,” he added.
The PGA of BC Awards have been named and amended as follows:
Dick Munn Golf Professional of the Year Award
Dick Munn was one of the most influential Golf Professionals of his generation. He was the consummate professional who mentored dozens of Assistant Professionals that went on to be Head Professionals themselves. He was a long-time Head Professional at Point Grey Golf & Country Club, which then led to an opportunity to develop and open Gallagher’s Canyon Golf & Country Club in Kelowna.
Dunc Sutherland Distinguished Service Award
Duncan (Dunc) Sutherland started his twenty-year tenure at Point Grey Golf & Country Club while wearing three hats: Professional, Manager, and Greens Superintendent. He served four years as President of the PGA of BC but more notably, served as a volunteer Secretary of the Association for 28 years.
Alvie Thompson Teacher of the Year Award
Alvie became a member of the PGA of Canada in 1957 working for the legendary Stan Leonard at Marine Drive Golf Club. An accomplished player, Thompson played in the 1963 Masters where he finished in a tie for 28th. He later took his skills to the lesson tee where he was quickly known as one of best instructors in the province.
Jack Westover Coach of the Year Award
Jack Westover coached the widely popular and successful golf program at Simon Fraser University, and served as Head Coach until 1991. A member of the PGA of Canada since 1959, Westover ran arguably one of the province’s most successful teaching programs throughout his entire career, and was most influential in the development of BC Golf Legend Doug Roxburgh.
Stan Leonard Player of the Year Award
Stan Leonard became a Golf Professional in 1938 and played almost exclusively on the Canadian Professional Golf Tour until 1954. He was appointed the position of Head Professional at Marine Drive Golf Club. He won the Canadian PGA Championship eight times from 1940-1961, a record that still stands.
Jack McLaughlin Junior Golf Leader of the Year Award
To many, Jack McLaughlin is known as one of the greatest promoters of junior golf in Canadian Golf history. As Past President of the PGA of BC (1976), Jack McLaughlin dedicated his career to teaching, coaching and the development of Junior Golf, having taught Canadian golf icons such as Lorie Kane, Brett Franklin, and Ray Stewart.
Fred Wood Class “A” Professional of the Year Award
Beginning as a caddie which then led to a successful playing career, Fred Wood switched his focus when he was appointed Head Professional at Shaughnessy Heights in 1945. He was instrumental in the re-location of the Club to its present location, and throughout his 28 years at the Club, he mentored a number of successful Assistants who later went on to be successful Club Professionals. Wood served as President of the PGA of BC from 1955-1956.
Jock McKinnon Candidate for Membership of the Year Award
Jock McKinnon was the first Golf Professional at Capilano Golf & Country Club when the prestigious Club opened its doors in 1937. His career at Capilano spread out over four decades and saw the mentorship of countless aspiring Golf Professionals who knew that working and learning from Jock McKinnon would almost certainly guarantee a Head Professional position of their own when the opportunity arose. He also served four years as President of the PGA of BC throughout three separate terms, and was awarded an Honourary Membership with the PGA of America.
Ben Colk Retailer of the Year Award
After being appointed Head Professional at Langara Golf Course, Ben Colk quickly became a notable figure in the golf retail market. Colk was the first to distribute and introduce pull carts to the province, and was commonly known as one of the leaders in serving the public with all of their golf retail needs. Colk became Head Professional at Richmond Country Club from 1959-1964 and later was instrumental in the development of Fairwinds Golf Club. Colk served as President of the PGA of BC for five years.
Davie Black Professional Development Award
Davie Black was one of the founding members of the PGA of BC, serving as the Association’s first President from 1931-1933, and then again in 1938. He served as Head Professional at Shaughnessy Heights from 1920-1945 and was a very accomplished player throughout his career in golf.
Herb Paterson Sales Representative of the Year Award
Herb Paterson had a remarkable 48-year career as a pioneer golf equipment service provider in the Canadian Golf industry. He brought to Canada, and was the exclusive distributor for, Titleist products through Jim Morrison Ltd. He was later appointed an Honourary Life Member of the PGA of Canada, and was the inaugural recipient of the PGA of BC’s Lifetime Achievement Award in 2001.
Jim Gibson Patron of the Year Award
Throughout several decades, Jim Gibson was a volunteer Competition Advisor for the PGA of BC. He was a very accomplished Amateur player and a great ambassador for the game of golf. More than that, he was simply a kind hearted man who always gave back and supported the Golf Professional throughout. A two-time recipient of this very award himself, the PGA of BC later honoured Gibson with the Association’s highest honour, the Lifetime Achievement Award, in 2011.
Arv Olsen Media Personnel of the Year
Throughout his 40-year career at The Vancouver Sun, Arv Olsen covered almost every sport imaginable, but there was a clear distinction that he was amongst the best golf writers of his time. An unprecedented passion for the game, Olson authored Back Spin, 100 years of golf in British Columbia in 1992, which he later updated again in 2012.
The Facility of the Year and Golf Shop of the Year Awards will continue to be recognized in addition to these individual awards on an annual basis.
Further to the Golf Professional of the Year Award, the PGA of BC is also proud to announce that the late Dick Munn will be honoured with the naming of the Dick Munn Memorial Trophy, annually awarded to the PGA of BC Club Professional Champion each fall.
The Association would like to thank and recognize Past President Derek Thornley (The Golf Institute at Fraserview) and the BC Golf House’s Michael Riste for their dedication in the development of this initiative. Moreover, the PGA of BC would like to extend its gratitude to the Honourees and their families for their support in the program.
The 2016 PGA of BC Awards Reception will take place following the first day of the PGA of BC Buying Show on Wednesday October 12th at the River Rock Casino Resort in Richmond, BC. Nominations for this year’s Awards will open mid July