Jr. and Intermediate Shamrocks Team Awards

jr shamrocks

By Janice Huckins

The Jr. and Intermediate ‘A’ Shamrocks held their annual team awards Monday at Brown’s Social House in Langford.  While the Jr. Shamrocks failed to make playoffs for the first time in a long while under a new format, the Intermediates swept Delta in their best 2-of-3 playoff and will move on to play in the Provincials in Langley over the August long weekend.  Other participants have yet to be determined.

Intermediate award winners were:

MVP – Brian Robb

Top Defensive Player – Garrett Wicks

Top Rookie – Goaltender Spencer Erwin

Sportsman Award – 2 winners – Nick Murray and Jackson Boyd

Most Inspirational Player – Caleb Kueber

Top Scorer – Ben Preston who finished second in league scoring with 34 goals and 45 assists for 79 points

Jr. Shamrocks award winners:

Cole Pickup was the big winner, taking away the MVP, Best Conditioned and Top Scorer award.  The Best Conditioned Award winner is determined by the training staff.  Cole’s point total  was 88 points on 37 goals and 51 assists.

The Jr. Shamrocks had another double winner as Danny Smith was named the most popular player, as voted by his teammates and is a co-winner of the Top Defensive Player Award

That defensive award was shared with Zac Christianson.

Most Improved Player – Rees Cullen

Most Inspirational Player – Nate Wade

Top Rookie – Brad McCulley

Sportsman of the Year – Matt Hamilton

The Shamrocks also presented jerseys and steins to 7 graduating players:

Steve Ackinclose

Nate Wade

Dallas Wade

Adam Jay

Trace Birley

Brock Thompson-Marshall

Matt Hamilton

Three Service Awards were also presented – these go to executive members, team personnel or any person who demonstrates a high quality of commitment and service to the Jr. Shamrocks Lacrosse Association.  This year the winners were:

Bill Russell Service Award – Jr. Shamrocks team manager and executive member in charge of promotions, fundraising and sponsorship – Kim McCulley

Bob Reid Merit Award – Intermediate Shamrocks team manager, Leanne Lawson

Shamrock Pride Award – Terry Dennett, former Shamrocks player, current assistant coach with both the Jr. and Sr. Shamrocks.