CBC Sports’ Road To The Olympic Games

165
hussian bolt
CBC Sports will take audiences to international competitions across Europe this weekend, featuring some of the world’s top athletes in action. Coverage will include the IAAF Diamond League meet in London, England; Canada’s National Women’s Soccer Team taking on France in their final international friendly prior to Rio 2016 in Auxerre, France; and the Rolex Grand Slam of Show Jumping from Aachen, Germany.

 
Coverage will be available across CBC Sports’ multiple platforms including CBC-TV, cbcsports.ca and the CBC Sports app for iOS and Android devices. Full broadcast and streaming schedules are available here.
IAAF Diamond League
The 2016 Diamond League season continues this weekend with a stop in London for the Muller Anniversary Games at Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park. Highlighting this weekend’s event is the return of Usain Bolt to competition in the 200m. Canada’s Brendon Rodney will go up against Bolt and will be looking to add another impressive run to his 2016 results. Rodney became the second Canadian to run the 200m in less than 20 seconds when he registered at 19.96 at the National Championships in Edmonton earlier this month.
 
 
​Usain Bolt at the London 2012 Olympic Games (Photo courtesy of the International Olympic Committee)
 
In addition to Rodney, Canada will have an impressive contingent in London this weekend. Other Canadians in action will include: Shawn Barber in men’s pole vault; Aaron Brown in the men’s 100m; Phylicia George in the women’s 100m hurdles; Kimberly Hyacinthe in the women’s 200ml Genevieve Lalonde and Erin Teschuk in the 3000m steeplechase; Brandon McBride in the men’s 800m; and Alyx Treasure in the women’s high jump.
 
CBC Sports’ coverage begins today at 3 p.m. ET (12 p.m. PT) at cbcsports.ca and via the CBC Sports app. Coverage continues Saturday morning at 10 a.m. ET (7 a.m. PT) online and via the app, and on CBC-TV at 5 p.m. ET (2 p.m. PT).
Women’s Soccer: Canada vs. France
Canada’s Women’s National Team is in France this week for the final set of international friendlies before heading to Brazil for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games. Canada defeated China earlier this week and will take on the French on home turfat Stade de l’Abbé-Deschamps this Saturday in a re-match of the London 2012 bronze medal match.
 
canadian soccer women1
 
(Photo courtesy of Canada Soccer)​

 
Coverage begins Saturday with a pre-match show at 2:45 p.m. ET (11:45 a.m. PT) followed by the match itself live at 3 p.m. ET (12 p.m. PT). The match will be available on CBC-TV, cbcsports.ca and via the CBC Sports app. CBC Sports’ Scott Russell will host alongside special studio analyst – Olympian and former long-time goalkeeper for Team Canada – Karina LeBlancNigel Reed will provide play-by-play commentary with Olympian and former WNT member,Dr. Clare Rustad, who will serve as analyst.
Rolex Grand Slam of Show Jumping

The first of three events that make up the Rolex Grand Slam of Show Jumping airs this weekend on Road To The Olympic Games as the top horse and rider pairs compete in Aachen, Germany. The prestigious Grand Slam also includes competitions at Spruce Meadows and Geneva, with an impressive bonus for any rider able to capture three consecutive victories in the series. Scott Brash was able to accomplish the impressive feat last season but the door is open for a new champion in 2016.

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!