Orangeville End Calgary’s Magical Run, Advance to Minto Cup Finals Against Coquitlam


    OTTAWA, ON (August 25, 2016) – The Orangeville Northmen and the Coquitlam Adanacs will battle for the title of Canada’s best Junior ‘A’ lacrosse team in the 2016 Minto Cup championship series, after the Northmen advanced thanks to a 12-7 semi-final win over the Calgary Mountaineers.


    The loss ended a historical Minto Cup tournament for the Mountaineers, who put themselves in the record books by defeating team’s from both Ontario and British Columbia in the same event for the first time ever.


    Their 13-5 win over the Delta Islanders in their tournament opener marked the first time an Alberta-based team beat a BC-based team since the Alberta Tomahawks defeated Burnaby Cablevision at the 1979 Minto Cup. They continued their incredible run by besting an Ontario-based team for the first time in Minto Cup history, a 5-3 win over the Northmen in yesterday’s round robin finale.


    But it was not to be for the Rocky Mountain Lacrosse League (RMLL) champions, as Orangeville got the best of them in their semi-final rematch.


    The Northmen played a fast-paced game and scored in bunches, including four unanswered goals to end the first period with a 5-2 lead. The teams exchanged tallies early on in the second frame, but Orangeville once again pulled away thanks to 6-0 run which spanned the late second and early third periods. Calgary added a few goals in the final minutes of the game, but were unable to claw back.  


    The tournament’s leading scorer Adam Charalambides (4 G, 3A) guided Orangeville’s offence with seven points, while Matt Gilray (1 G, 3 A) and Scott Del Zotto (2 G, 2A) contributed with four a piece. Sean Tyrell (1 G, 3 A) led the way for Calgary, while Lyndon Bunio added a hat-trick.


    While they may not have advanced to the finals, the Mountaineers showed that Junior ‘A’ teams from the RMLL can compete on the national stage at the Minto Cup.


    The Northmen’s finals opponent from Coquitlam earned a bye into the winner-take-all series by finishing in first place after the round robin. They managed an 8-7 win over Orangeville and a 10-3 win over Calgary, while falling 7-4 to their BC rivals from Delta, a game in which they rested many of their regulars.
    The Adanacs, who went undefeated in the BCJALL regular season compiling a 21-0 record, will be led into the championship series by a balance scoring attack and great goaltending. Colin Munro (2 G, 7 A), John Hofseth (5 G, 4 A), Jean-Luc Chetner (3 G, 4 A) and Tyler Pace (3 G, 4 A) have all made contributions on the offensive side of the ball, while Christian Del Bianco will hold down the fort in goal, looking to add to an already impressive Junior ‘A’ resume. In three BCJALL seasons, Del Bianco has yet to lose a regular season game (34 wins, 0 losses).


    The best-of-five championship series between Coquitlam and Orangeville kicks off on Thursday, August 25 at 8:00PM PST at the Langley Events Centre.



    • Thursday, August 25 at 8:00PM PST
    • Friday, August 26 at 8:00PM PST
    • Saturday, August 27 at 8:00PM PST
    • Sunday, August 28 at 8:00PM PST (if necessary)
    • Monday, August 29 at 8:00PM PST (if necessary)

    Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

    Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
    Email address
    First Name*
    We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!