Hollis' Record-Setting Touchdown Helps Lead Soul to ArenaBowl XXIX Title


GLENDALE, AZ (August 28, 2016) – The Philadelphia Soul have defeated the Arizona Rattlers to capture their second championship in franchise history.  Several records and milestones were reached in the final game of the 29th season in League history.


-Philadelphia’s 28 points scored in the 1st quarter was the most by any team in the 1st quarter of a game in ArenaBowl history.  It’s also the most points any team has scored in the first quarter of any playoff game.


-The 35 combined points scored in the 1st quarter of ArenaBowl XXIX was tied for the most points in any 1st quarter of an ArenaBowl.  The record is shared with Albany and Orlando which also combined for 35 points in the 1st quarter of ArenaBowl XIII.


-Nick Davila broke the record for the most pass attempts in ArenaBowl history.  He entered the game with the fourth most attempts with 123 and needed just 21 to surpass Sherdrick Bonner.  In ArenaBowl XXVIII, Davila broke the records for pass completions, passing yards and passing touchdowns.  He extended those records to 110 completions, 1,437 passing yards and 35 passing touchdowns and now is the holder for pass attempts as well with 161.


-The Rattlers forced one turnover in the ArenaBowl and finished the postseason with 14 forced turnovers, the most by a team in a single postseason in AFL history.


-Maurice Purify scored two touchdowns in ArenaBowl XXIX to give him 11 for his career, the most in ArenaBowl history.  Purify and teammate Rod Windsor now have a combined 17 touchdowns in their ArenaBowl careers, three shy of the AFL record held by George LaFrance and Stevie Thomas.


-When Arizona tied ArenaBowl XXIX at 42-42, it had erased a deficit which was once 21 points.  It was the second time in ArenaBowl history that a team came back from down by three touchdowns to at least tie the game.  Nashville took a 30-29 lead on Orlando in ArenaBowl XIV after trailing 29-7.  Both the Kats and Rattlers were defeated in their respective ArenaBowls.  The biggest deficit overcome to win an ArenaBowl remains at just eight points.


-Dwayne Hollis’ 49-yard fumble return for a touchdown was just the second 49-yard touchdown from scrimmage in ArenaBowl history.  The first 49-yard touchdown came on a Calvin Schexnayder touchdown pass from Donnie Davis in ArenaBowl XI.  Hollis’ touchdown was also the longest defensive score in ArenaBowl history.


-James Romain became the 10th man in ArenaBowl history to intercept two passes in the same title game.


-Mykel Benson became the 12th man in ArenaBowl history to have at least two rushing touchdowns in the title game.


-The 96 combined points in ArenaBowl XXIX was the lowest in a championship game since ArenaBowl XXVI when these same two teams combined to score just 87 points.


-Philadelphia’s Shaun Kauleinamoku earned ArenaBowl XXIX MVP.  The only Hawaiian ever to win MVP and the longest last name of any ArenaBowl MVP.


-Ari Wolfe became the first broadcaster in AFL history to be a part of the broadcast team in seven ArenaBowls.