Inaugural winners crowned on curling podium at Americas Masters Games


The Island Girls and the Steve Wright team have won the inaugural women’s and men’s curling events at the Americas Masters Games.

The winning curlers feature a very skilled group, including players with Olympic, Scotties and Brier experience.

The Island Girls took gold. They were skipped by Lynne Noble (BC Senior Champion 2011), third Penny Shantz (Olympian, 1988 Winter Olympics in Calgary, when curling made its Games debut as a demonstration sport), second Colleen Robson and lead Lorraine Jeffries (BC Senior Champion 2011), all from different communities on Vancouver Island. They defeated the A event winner, Dianne Gauthier from the Royal City Curling Club, 6-1 in six ends to take the championship final. Laura Rampton’s team from Marpole Curling Club won the bronze medal.

Wright’s team scored three in the final end for a 6-5 win over Steve Moss from Yellowknife, NWT. Wright, from Kelowna, had third Neil Houston (Brier champion, Team Ed Lukowich, 1986, Olympian, 1988 Winter Olympics in Calgary), second Ernie Daniels and lead Brett Kury, all from Royal City Curling Club. The team skipped by Keith Switzer (2013 BC Mixed Champion, 2016 BC Masters Champion) from Richmond Curling Club won the bronze medal.

The Mixed Curling event is taking place now through to Sunday, September 4. Follow the games here.

A video featuring Team Moss was shot during the event. The Moss brothers of Stephen, Michael, Richard, Jack and Glenn were coached by their sister Maureen Miller.

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!