Victoria Shamrocks hand out 2016 team awards


Victoria – The Victoria Shamrocks finished 1st  in the Western Lacrosse Association with a record of 14-4.  In the first round of the playoffs, the Shamrocks defeated the Burnaby Lakers in 7 games but were defeated by Maple Ridge Burrards in game six of the WLA Finals.  Monday was an evening to celebrate the accomplishments as the team handed out the 2016 team awards.

Based on nominations by the club for league awards

  • Jim “Pee Wee” Bradshaw Award for the Rookie of the Year – Taylor Northway and Ian McShane
  • Fred Wooster Memorial Award for the Unsung Hero – Chris Wardle
  • Ken Alexander Memorial Award for the Best Defensive Player – Jon Harnett and Greg Harnett
  • George Blackstock Memorial Award for the Most Valuable Player – Rhys Duch

Other team awards not related to league award nominations

  • John Crowther Memorial Award for the Highest Scorer – Rhys Duch
  • Mason Sheldrick Leadership Award – Corey Small
  • Leon Hall Memorial Award for Outstanding Service & Dedication to the Game of Lacrosse – Bob Heyes, Art Webster, Dave Lowdon and Terry Dennett
  • Chris Hall Memorial Award for the Player with the Most Competitive Spirit as Selected by his Teammates – Greg Harnett
  • Most Popular Player Award as Voted by the Fans – Corey Small


Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!