Calgary, AB – The Western Hockey League is proud to announce that 21 WHL graduates will participate in the upcoming World Cup of Hockey in Toronto.

Team Europe boasts the most WHL graduates with six, including 1997-98 WHL Rookie of the Year Marian Hossa and 2015 WHL Playoff MVP Leon Draisaitl. Representing Team Canada are five WHL graduates, including 2005 WHL Playoff MVP Shea Weber and 2006-07 WHL Goaltender of the Year Carey Price. Team North America features four WHL graduates.

A total of 14 Western Hockey League Member Clubs are represented, with the Portland Winterhawks soaring above the rest with five former players at the tournament.

The 2016 World Cup of Hockey runs from Saturday, September 17th to Saturday, October 1st. The eight-team tournament features Team Canada, Team Czech Republic, Team Finland, Team Russia, Team Sweden, Team USA, Team Europe and Team North America.

The third installment of the World Cup of Hockey follows the inaugural 1996 tournament in Montreal when the United States defeated Canada. Eight years later in Toronto, it was Canada skating to a championship victory over Finland in 2004.

Follow the WHL’s stars of the past as they compete to be the best in the world beginning Saturday, September 17th on Rogers Sportsnet.

2016 World Cup of Hockey Schedule