Marc Leishman
Melbourne, AUS – Tournament officials announced today that world No. 6 Adam Scott has selected Marc Leishman, winner of six events worldwide, to be his partner for the upcoming World Cup of Golf to form one of the 28 two-man teams who will represent their countries at Kingston Heath Golf Club, from November 23-27.
Leishman, who was paired with Scott when he won his green jacket at The Masters in 2013, will be making his first World Cup of Golf appearance. Winner of the 2012 Travelers Championship on the PGA TOUR, Leishman has five other international victories, including his most recent at the 2015 Nedbank Golf Challenge in South Africa on the European Tour last December. Leishman entered final round with a one-stroke lead over Henrik Stenson and shot 67 to win by six, becoming second Australian (Robert Allenby in 2009) to win the title.
Leishman was voted Rookie of the Year in 2009 on the PGA TOUR after three top-10 finishes, including a runner-up finish to Tiger Woods at the BMW Championship.
Scott and Leishman were teammates on the International Team in The Presidents Cup in 2013 and in 2015. The two were paired together in 2015 during the Saturday foursomes where they defeated Bubba Watson and J.B. Holmes 1-up. Leishman also defeated Jordan Spieth that year in singles play.
“I’m extremely excited about playing in the World Cup of Golf with Adam. I can’t wait to represent my country back home in Australia,” Leishman said. “Also, my best to Jason for a quick recovery.”
“It’s (Kingston Heath) probably in the top three, to be honest. Along with Augusta National Golf Club and St. Andrews. Kingston Heath is not long, it’s a very fun golf course and you can shoot really low there. You’ll have a lot of wedges in your hand – you have to be really precise,” Leishman added in an interview earlier this year.
A native Victorian hailing from Warrnambool, Leishman enjoyed a very successful amateur career, winning many junior tournaments in Victoria and playing on the pennant team for Commonwealth Golf Club along with Jarrod Lyle.
Leishman’s selection to team with Adam Scott came after Jason Day announced last week that he was forced to withdraw due to a back injury.
The 2016 World Cup of Golf will return to a 72-hole, stroke play, two-man team event format.  The first and third days of competition will be the foursomes (alternate shot) format and the second and final days are fourball (best ball) play.
The World Cup of Golf field now includes:
  • Two major championship winners from 2016 in Jimmy Walker (US PGA Championship) and Danny Willett (The Masters)
  • 27 Olympians
  • 18 past participants of either The Ryder Cup or The Presidents Cup
  • 6 players from the 2016 Ryder Cup in Rickie Fowler, Jimmy Walker, Danny Willet, Lee Westwood, Cabrera Bella and Thomas Pieters
  • 3 players in the top 10 and 17 of the top 50 in the Official World Golf Ranking
  • 3 past World Cup of Golf champions – Adam Scott, Francesco Molinari and Bradley Dredge
World Cup of Golf 2016 Field
Player                             Country      Partner
Adam Scott                   AUS             Marc Leishman
Rickie Fowler               USA             Jimmy Walker
Danny Willett               ENG             Lee Westwood
Hideki Matsuyama    JPN              Ryo Ishikawa
Russell Knox                 SCO              Duncan Stewart
Rafa Cabrera Bello     ESP               Jon Rahm
Shane Lowry                IRL                Graeme McDowell
Byeong Hun An           KOR             K.T. Kim
Thongchai Jaidee       THA              Kiradech Aphibarnrat
Soren Kjeldsen           DEN             Thorbjorn Olesen
Danny Lee                     NZL              Ryan Fox
Alex Noren                   SWE             David Lingmerth
Francesco Molinari    ITA               Matteo Manassero
Bernd Wiesberger     AUT             Martin Wiegele
Thomas Pieters           BEL               Nicolas Colsaerts
Joost Luiten                  NED             Darius van Driel
Jaco Van Zyl                  RSA              George Coetzee
Jamie Donaldson        WAL             Bradley Dredge
Jhonattan Vegas        VEN             Julio Vegas
Victor Dubuisson        FRA              Romain Langasque
Alex Cejka                     GER              Stephan Jaeger
Ricardo Gouveia         POR             Jose-Filipe Lima
David Hearn                 CAN             Graham DeLaet
Ashun Wu                     CHN             Haotong Li
Miguel Tabuena         PHI               Angelo Que
Cheng Tsung Pan       TPE               Chan Shih-chang
SSP Chawrasia             IND              S Chikarangappa
Danny Chia                   MAS            Nicholas Fung