132 WHL Graduates Listed on 2016-17 NHL Opening Day Rosters


    Calgary, AB – The Western Hockey League is proud to announce that 132 WHL Alumni are on National Hockey League opening day rosters for the start of the 2016-17 season.

    Led by the Edmonton Oilers, Philadelphia Flyers and Vancouver Canucks, whose rosters each include eight WHL grads, all 30 NHL Clubs boast at least one former WHL player. The Calgary Flames enter the 2016-17 season with seven WHL grads, while the Columbus Blue Jackets, Minnesota Wild, New York Islanders and St. Louis Blues are carrying six WHL grads each.

    Of the 132 WHL graduates listed on opening day rosters, five are currently on the injured reserve lists of NHL Clubs.

    Below is the complete list of WHL Alumni who are on NHL opening day rosters for the 2016-17 season:

    Anaheim Ducks (2)
    Ryan Getzlaf, F – Calgary Hitmen
    Clayton Stoner, D – Tri-City Americans

    Arizona Coyotes (5)
    Shane Doan, F – Kamloops Blazers
    Martin Hanzal, F – Red Deer Rebels
    Jordan Martinook, F – Vancouver Giants
    Luke Schenn, D – Kelowna Rockets
    Ryan White, F – Calgary Hitmen

    Boston Bruins (4)
    Brandon Carlo, D – Tri-City Americans
    Zdeno Chara, D – Prince George Cougars
    Anton Khudobin, G – Saskatoon Blades
    Joe Morrow, D – Portland Winterhawks

    Buffalo Sabres (5)
    Tyler Ennis, F – Medicine Hat Tigers
    Cody Franson, D – Vancouver Giants
    Josh Gorges, D – Kelowna Rockets
    Evander Kane, F – Vancouver Giants
    Sam Reinhart, F – Kootenay ICE

    Calgary Flames (7)
    Mikael Backlund, F – Kelowna Rockets
    Lance Bouma, F – Vancouver Giants
    Troy Brouwer, F – Moose Jaw Warriors
    Deryk Engelland, D – Moose Jaw Warriors
    Micheal Ferland, F – Brandon Wheat Kings/Saskatoon Blades
    Brett Kulak, D – Vancouver Giants
    Kris Versteeg, F – Lethbridge Hurricanes/Kamloops Blazers/Red Deer Rebels

    Carolina Hurricanes (2)
    Victor Rask, F – Calgary Hitmen
    Cam Ward, G – Red Deer Rebels

    Chicago Blackhawks (5)
    Marian Hossa, F – Portland Winterhawks
    Duncan Keith, D – Kelowna Rockets
    Michal Rozsival, D – Swift Current Broncos
    Brent Seabrook, D – Lethbridge Hurricanes
    Jordin Tootoo, F – Brandon Wheat Kings

    Colorado Avalanche (5)
    Tyson Barrie, D – Kelowna Rockets
    Blake Comeau, F – Kelowna Rockets
    Jarome Iginla, F – Kamloops Blazers
    Cody McLeod, F – Portland Winterhawks
    Calvin Pickard, G – Seattle Thunderbirds

    Columbus Blue Jackets (6)
    Oliver Bjorkstrand, F – Portland Winterhawks
    Matt Calvert, F – Brandon Wheat Kings
    Brandon Dubinsky, F – Portland Winterhawks
    Scott Hartnell, F – Prince Albert Raiders
    Seth Jones, D – Portland Winterhawks
    Ryan Murray, D – Everett Silvertips

    Dallas Stars (4)
    Jamie Benn, F – Kelowna Rockets
    Adam Cracknell, F – Kootenay ICE
    Cody Eakin, F* – Swift Current Broncos/Kootenay ICE
    Dan Hamhuis, D – Prince George Cougars

    Detroit Red Wings (2)
    Mike Green, D – Saskatoon Blades
    Darren Helm, F – Medicine Hat Tigers

    Edmonton Oil Kings (8)
    Brandon Davidson, D – Regina Pats
    Leon Draisaitl, F – Prince Albert Raiders/Kelowna Rockets
    Jordan Eberle, F – Regina Pats
    Milan Lucic, F – Vancouver Giants
    Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, F – Red Deer Rebels
    Tyler Pitlick, F – Medicine Hat Tigers
    Kris Russell, D – Medicine Hat Tigers
    Andrew Ference, D* – Portland Winterhawks

    Florida Panthers (5)
    Shane Harper, F – Everett Silvertips
    Alex Petrovic, D – Red Deer Rebels
    Mark Pysyk, D – Edmonton Oil Kings
    James Reimer, G – Red Deer Rebels
    Colton Sceviour, F – Portland Winterhawks/Lethbridge Hurricanes

    Los Angeles Kings (3)
    Dwight King, F – Lethbridge Hurricanes
    Brayden McNabb, D – Kootenay ICE
    Devin Setoguchi, F – Saskatoon Blades/Prince George Cougars

    Minnesota Wild (6)
    Devan Dubnyk, G – Kamloops Blazers
    Matt Dumba, D – Red Deer Rebels
    Darcy Kuemper, G – Red Deer Rebels
    Nino Niederreiter, F – Portland Winterhawks
    Jared Spurgeon, D – Spokane Chiefs
    Victor Bartley, D* – Kamloops Blazers/Regina Pats

    Montreal Canadiens (3)
    Brendan Gallagher, F – Vancouver Giants
    Carey Price, G – Tri-City Americans
    Shea Weber, D – Kelowna Rockets

    Nashville Predators (2)
    Ryan Johansen, F – Portland Winterhawks
    Colton Sissons, F – Kelowna Rockets

    New Jersey Devils (2)
    Vernon Fiddler, F – Kelowna Rockets/Medicine Hat Tigers
    Damon Severson, D – Kelowna Rockets

    New York Islanders (6)
    Mathew Barzal, F – Seattle Thunderbirds
    Johnny Boychuk, D – Calgary Hitmen/Moose Jaw Warriors
    Jason Chimera, F – Medicine Hat Tigers/Brandon Wheat Kings
    Travis Hamonic, D – Moose Jaw Warriors/Brandon Wheat Kings
    Thomas Hickey, D – Seattle Thunderbirds
    Andrew Ladd, F – Calgary Hitmen

    New York Rangers (2)
    Michael Grabner, F – Spokane Chiefs
    Nick Holden, D – Chilliwack Bruins
    Dylan McIlrath, D – Moose Jaw Warriors

    Ottawa Senators (4)
    Clarke MacArthur, F* – Medicine Hat Tigers
    Dion Phaneuf, D – Red Deer Rebels
    Zack Smith, F – Swift Current Broncos
    Mark Stone, F – Brandon Wheat Kings

    Philadelphia Flyers (8)
    Boyd Gordon, F – Red Deer Rebels
    Radko Gudas, D – Everett Silvertips
    Brandon Manning, D – Chilliwack Bruins
    Ivan Provorov, D – Brandon Wheat Kings
    Brayden Schenn, F – Brandon Wheat Kings/Saskatoon Blades
    Nick Schultz, D – Prince Albert Raiders
    Jordan Weal, F – Regina Pats
    Dale Weise, F – Swift Current Broncos

    Pittsburgh Penguins (2)
    Eric Fehr, F – Brandon Wheat Kings
    Derrick Pouliot, D – Portland Winterhawks

    San Jose Sharks (4)
    Brenden Dillon, D – Seattle Thunderbirds
    Martin Jones, G – Calgary Hitmen
    Patrick Marleau, F – Seattle Thunderbirds
    David Schlemko, D – Medicine Hat Tigers

    St. Louis Blues (6)
    Jay Bouwmeester, D – Medicine Hat Tigers
    Kyle Brodziak, F – Moose Jaw Warriors
    Joel Edmundson, D – Moose Jaw Warriors, Kamloops Blazers
    Ty Rattie, F – Portland Winterhawks
    Ryan Reaves, F – Brandon Wheat Kings
    Scottie Upshall, F – Kamloops Blazers

    Tampa Bay Lightning (3)
    Braydon Coburn, D – Portland Winterhawks
    Tyler Johnson, F – Spokane Chiefs
    Brayden Point, F – Moose Jaw Warriors

    Toronto Maple Leafs (4)
    Joffrey Lupul, F* – Medicine Hat Tigers
    Martin Marincin, D – Prince George Cougars/Regina Pats
    Roman Polak, D – Kootenay ICE
    Morgan Rielly, D – Moose Jaw Warriors

    Vancouver Canucks (8)
    Sven Baertschi, F – Portland Winterhawks
    Derek Dorsett, F – Medicine Hat Tigers
    Alexander Edler, D – Kelowna Rockets
    Emerson Etem, F – Medicine Hat Tigers
    Jannik Hanse, F – Portland Winterhawks
    Luca Sbisa, D – Lethbridge Hurricanes/Portland Winterhawks
    Brandon Sutter, F – Red Deer Rebels
    Jake Virtanen, F – Calgary Hitmen

    Washington Capitals (3)
    Karl Alzner, D – Calgary Hitmen
    Brett Connolly, F – Prince George Cougars
    Braden Holtby, G – Saskatoon Blades

    Winnipeg Jets (5)
    Dustin Byfuglien, D – Brandon Wheat Kings/Prince George Cougars
    Adam Lowry, F – Swift Current Broncos
    Josh Morrissey, D – Prince Albert Raiders/Kelowna Rockets
    Tyler Myers, D – Kelowna Rockets
    Paul Postma, D – Swift Current Broncos/Calgary Hitmen

    *Denotes player on injured reserve