The British Columbia Lacrosse Association (BCLA) held their Annual General Meeting October 14-16, 2016 in Whistler, BC. Every year this event brings the lacrosse community together for meetings, a lacrosse trade show and the annual merit awards banquet. Over 550 participants took part in the weekend events.

The BC Lacrosse Association annually presents the BCLA Merit Awards to the many lacrosse volunteers who commit their free time to the sport of lacrosse. Eighteen Merit Awards were handed out during the 2016 Merit Awards Banquet held Saturday October 15th at the Whistler Conference Centre.

The 2016 BCLA Merit Award recipients were as follows:

Ted Fridge Family Spirit Award – The Terris Family (Brande, Shane & Jordan), Nanaimo

Irvine-Calder-Nevard Merit Award – Outstanding service through lacrosse sponsorship SUBWAY Restaurants of British Columbia

Jimmy Gunn Merit Awards – Referees of the Year

Senior Referee – Jamie Graham (Abbotsford), Lower Mainland Senior Officials

Minor Referee – Rory Marshall, Shuswap Minor Lacrosse

Field Referee – Al Sleightholme, Surrey Field Lacrosse

John Cavallin Merit Award – Coaches of the Year

Senior Coach – Pat Coyle, Kyle Sorensen & Creighton Reid, Coquitlam Junior “A”

Field Coach – Chris Gill, Ridge Meadows Lacrosse

Bill McBain Minor Box Coaching Merit Award

Minor Coach – Josh Wahl, Port Coquitlam Minor Lacrosse Association/Team BC

Dal Martin Merit Award – Trainer of the Year

Jenn Forlin, Langley Senior “B”

Hugh Gifford Merit Award (Box & Field Lacrosse) – Manager of the Year

Box Lacrosse – Gordon Kask (Ridge Meadows), Team BC Pee Wee Box Lacrosse

Field Lacrosse – Rita Stroup (Port Coquitlam), Team BC Women’s Field Lacrosse

Ruth Seward Merit Award (Box & Field Lacrosse) – Outstanding involvement by and individual

Box Lacrosse – Colleen Houlihan, Comox Valley Minor Lacrosse Association

Field Lacrosse – Chris Comeault (Ridge Meadows), Pacific Coast Field Lacrosse League

Art Daoust Merit Award (Box & Field Lacrosse) – Fostering and promoting the game, improving the image and stature of lacrosse in BC

Box Lacrosse – Angie Schwan (Delta), BCLA Minor Directorate

Field Lacrosse – Mary Clare (Delta), Canada West Men’s Field Lacrosse League

Leon Hall Merit Award – Association of the Year

Box Lacrosse – New Westminster Minor Lacrosse Association

Field Lacrosse – Nanaimo Field Lacrosse Association

Tom Gordon Plaque – BCLA’s Mr. or Ms. Lacrosse

Beth McLucas (Surrey), BCLA Field Directorate, Lower Mainland Minor Lacrosse Commission Chair.


The BCLA Presidents Award promotes and celebrates the spirit of volunteerism by annually giving BCLA

organizations an opportunity to acknowledge and thank an individual who has demonstrated outstanding dedication and commitment to lacrosse within their organizations.

The 2016 BC Lacrosse Association Presidents Award winners are as follows:


Bev Mosdell, BC Junior A Lacrosse League

Gwen Frederick, Prince George Senior C Lacrosse League

Kurt Bronson, Victoria Senior C Lacrosse League

Paul Beugeling, Thompson-Okanagan Junior B League

Todd Manns, Pacific Northwest Junior B League

Robyn Thompson, Vancouver Island Intermediate B League

Clare Ellison, Abbotsford Minor Lacrosse Association

Brad Romano, Burnaby Minor Lacrosse Association

Krista Gregory, Comox Valley Minor Lacrosse Association

Sandy Pace, Coquitlam Minor Lacrosse Association

Chad O’Brien, Cowichan Valley Minor Lacrosse Association

Ross Frehlick, Delta Field Lacrosse Association

Pam Stracker, Delta Minor Lacrosse Association

Ramona McAdie, Ft. St. John Minor Lacrosse Association

Wuilbert Jaramillo, Kelowna Minor Lacrosse Association

Susan Rahe, Langley Minor Lacrosse Association

Paula Harris, Mid Island Youth Field Lacrosse Association

Darcie Downey, Mission Minor Lacrosse Association

Kim Sharpe, Nanaimo & District Lacrosse Association

Andy “Gump” Reynolds, Nanaimo Field Lacrosse Association

Karen Poole, New Westminster Minor Lacrosse Association

Carol Soenen, New Westminster Minor Lacrosse Association

Cory Fisher, North Island Field Lacrosse Association

Farrah Lewis, Oceanside Minor Lacrosse Association

Aleisha Connorton, Pacific Rim Field Lacrosse Association

Angus Wagnal, Peninsula Minor Lacrosse Association

Cybelle Stevens, Prince George Minor Lacrosse Association

Paul Enkelmann, Pt. Coquitlam Minor Lacrosse Association

Jamie McMurray, Pt. Moody Minor Lacrosse Association

Stacey Okino, Richmond Lacrosse Association

Trish Kingsbury, Ridge Meadows Minor Lacrosse Association

Peter Spaans, Saanich Minor Lacrosse Association

Mark Betts, Semiahmoo Minor Lacrosse Association

Karen Peters, Shuswap Minor Lacrosse Association

Aaron Gilbert, Sunshine Coast Minor Lacrosse Association

Susan dos Santos, Surrey Minor Lacrosse Association

Kia Hamilton, Valley Field Lacrosse Association

Evelyn Sutton, Victoria Youth Field Lacrosse Association