West Coast League unveiled its official 2017 schedule

Victoria will travel to Port Angeles to open the 2017 WCL season
The West Coast League unveiled its official 2017 schedule today as announced by league president Donnie Marbut.

The upcoming season marks the WCL’s 13th campaign since the league was established in 2005. Located in the beautiful Pacific Northwest, the premier summer collegiate baseball circuit west of the Mississippi showcases top collegiate baseball players from across North America in 11 markets throughout Washington, Oregon and British Columbia, Canada.

Opening Day 2017 is set for Thursday, June 1st and will feature the Victoria HarbourCats at the Port Angeles Lefites at Civic Field. It’s the Lefties very first WCL game as Port Angeles is the newest member of the West Coast League. Most of the rest of the league opens up on Friday, June 2.

The addition of Port Angeles triggered a minor divisional realignment for the 2017 season. The Lefties, formerly the Kitsap BlueJackets, were moved from the South to the North. With the exception of this change, the league divisional structure and split-season playoff format remain intact.

This summer’s WCL All-Star Game will be hosted by the Yakima Valley Pippins on Tuesday, July 18 at Yakima County Stadium.

The official WCL schedule features 54 league contests, with each team playing a balanced schedule. Many member clubs add non-counting, non-league games to their schedules. The WCL regular season concludes Sunday, August 6 and the WCL playoffs – a four-team postseason to determine the league champion – gets started on Tuesday, August 8.