Rebels Celebrate Their Own With Team Awards Season Finale


November 14, 2016  Langford, BC ( ISN ) – ISN’s Erich Eichhorn was present Monday evening as the Westshore Rebels concluded their magical 2016 season with their annual awards banquet, honouring players, executive, sponsors and friends with anecdotes, laughs, and heart-felt speeches of commitment and accomplishment throughout the past season. With emcee Jim ten Hove and a full house, the organization was able to reflect on the past season and look forward to next season.

Marty Rebels

In a release from the Westshore Rebels team the following players reached their eligibility and will be graduating from junior football. Devon Bell, Jordan Bosse, James Bradley, Connor Bryan, Tyree Cayer, Kevin Gabriel, Jake Hall, Alijah Khan, Tyler Leaders, Dusean LeBlanc, Juslin Makambo, Connor McGuinness, Nathaniel Pinto, Brody Uddenberg, Patrick Warren and Alex Wright will all graduate as Westshore Alumni, some carrying on as Rebels coaching staff next season.

Jamel Lyles would come away with a team high three awards Monday night in Langford, BC - Erich Eichhorn image (
Jamel Lyles would come away with a team high three awards Monday night in Langford, BC – Erich Eichhorn image (

Below is a list of player awards as handed out on the evening by coaches, team and league executives. Congratulations !

Community Citizen of the Year – Ryan Allard
Leadership Excellence – Alex Wright
Outstanding Teammate – Tyson Thompson and Aarmin Purewal
Rebel Toughness – Jeremie Drouin
Defensive Most Improved – Adam Masur
Offensive Most Improved – Trey Campbell
Defensive Rookie of the Year – Brandon Gandire
Offensive Rookie of the Year – Kain Melchior
Top Defensive Linemen – Jeremie Drouin
Top Linebacker – Matt Pastro
Top Defensive Back – Brody Uddenberg
Top Offensive Linemen – Christian Krause
Top Receiver – Nathaniel Pinto
Top Offensive Back – Ashton MacKinnon
Special Teams Player of the Year – Jamel Lyles
Defensive Player of the Year – Kent Hicks
Offensive Player of the Year – Jamel Lyles
Team Most Inspirational – James Bradley
Team Most Valuable Player – Jamel Lyles
Rein Eberle Volunteer Award – Rob Cherneff
Jim Worth Memorial Plaque – Brody Uddenberg

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!