The field is now complete for the 2017 BC Junior Curling Championships.

A busy weekend of playdowns has seen a total of ten teams qualify for the event, which will take place from December 27, 2016, to January 1, 2017, at the Royal City Curling Club in New Westminster.

The finals for both the Junior Men and Junior Women will be livestreamed on January 1 at

Playdowns for teams aged 20 and under took place across the province over the weekend (Nov 25-27), including in Prince George, Courtenay, Creston and Osoyoos.
The biggest event was the Coastal Playdowns at the Comox Valley Curling Club in Courtenay, where seven berths to provincials were available.

On the junior men’s side, four berths were available. Defending BC champions, Team Tardi, were the A Event winners. The Langley Curling Centre/Royal City Curling Club team won bronze at the national junior championships in 2016. It features skip Tyler Tardi of Cloverdale, third Sterling Middleton, who recently moved from Fort St John to Burnaby, second Jordan Tardi of Cloverdale, lead Nicholas Meister of Langley and coach Paul Tardi.

Team Habkirk were the B event qualifiers. The team from Victoria Curling Centre features skip Kyle Habkirk (Coquitlam) with third Duncan Silversides, second Ryan Cassidy and lead Alex Hovarth all hailing from the Victoria area. The team is coached by Ken MacDonald.

Team Proctor and Team Sato were the other junior men qualifiers. Team Proctor from Royal City Curling Club features Tyler Proctor (Burnaby), Horace Mak (New Westminster), Matthew Chan (Vancouver) and Breyden Chong (Burnaby). They are coached by Chris Summers. Team Sato hails from Royal City, Coquitlam and Cloverdale Curling Clubs and features Hayato Sato (Coquitlam), Dawson Ballard (Cloverdale), Troy Chong and Joshua Miki. The team, coached by Bryan Miki and Len Chong, is eligible for the U18 championships so will be among one of the youngest to compete at this U21 junior event.

The junior women to qualify at Coastal Playdowns were teams Fisher, Bourassa and Coulombe. The A event qualifiers were Team Fisher, from Chilliwack Curling Club, featuring Cierra Fisher, of Kamloops, and the Lower Mainland trio of Cailin Cooke (Chilliwack), Kylie Karoway (Surrey) and Jasmin Jani (Chilliwack). The team is coached by Jay Batch.

Team Bourassa from Delta Thistle Curling Club features skip Megan Bourassa (Delta), third Catera Park (Coquitlam), second Kim Bonneau (Abbotsford), lead Heather Sinclair (Delta) and coach Marion McNeill.

Team Coulombe, from Victoria Curling Centre, features Mariah Coulombe (Victoria), Taylor Reese-Hansen (Kitimat), Jordan Koster (Courtenay), Kirsten Zucchet (Chilliwack), with coaches Andrew Komlodi and Bob Coulombe.

The teams who qualified from the other areas of the province were (junior women) Team Connell, Team McGillivray and Team Buchy as well as (junior men) Team Anderson and Team Love.

Team Connell, from the Prince George Golf and Curling Club, all live in Prince George and are coached by Rick Fewster. Members include Alyssa Connell, Bailey Eberherr, Jordan Henson and Erin Ross.

Team McGillivray, from Vernon Curling Club, features Megan McGillivray (Kelowna), Winter Harvey (Vernon), Jaelyn Cotter (Vernon) and Katelyn McGillivray. The team is coached by six-times BC Men’s Champion Jim Cotter.

Team Buchy, from Kimberley Curling Club, feature a line-up which won the BC High School Curling Championship in 2016. The team is comprised of skip Alysha Buchy, third Kaila Buchy, second Haylie Farquar and lead Arissa Toffolo. The team is coached by Tom Buchy.

Team Anderson, from Grand Forks Curling Club, also won the BC High School Curling Championship (for boys) in 2016. The team is coached by Dave Bartlett and features Colin Anderson, Devin Anderson, Elliott Starchuk, Dawson Reid and alternate Anthony Schembri.

Team Love, from Vernon Curling Club, features the Vernon duo of Thomas Love and Erik Colwell with Brendan Chapple (Armstrong) and Logan Miron (Kelowna). The team is coached by Dean Chapple.

The winner of the BC junior men’s championship and the winner of the BC junior women’s championship will represent BC at the 2017 Canadian Junior Curling Championships being staged in Esquimalt from January 21-29, 2017.

Four teams had qualified based on results from the BC Junior Curling Tour. Those teams were Team Daniels (Royal City), Team Kiss (Royal City), Team Brown (Kamloops) and Team McCrady (Royal City).

The Royal City Curling Club event will be two eight-team round robins running simultaneously.