Puck Drops on the 2016 World Sledge Hockey Challenge Sunday Afternoon

Canada’s National Sledge Team faces Norway to open tournament

279
IPC ice sledge hockey

CHARLOTTETOWN, P.E.I. – The 10th edition of the World Sledge Hockey Challenge kicks off Sunday afternoon in P.E.I., as the City of Charlottetown hosts the event for the third time in tournament history.

 

Canada’s National Sledge Team, the silver-medallist from January’s World Sledge Hockey Challenge in Bridgewater, N.S., opens the tournament at 4 p.m. ET/5 p.m. AT against Norway, which is making a return trip to the event for the first time since 2012. Canada is a five-time gold-medal winner, having captured wins in 2013, Nov. 2011, April 2011, 2008, and 2007. The tournament kicks off Sunday with the defending gold-medallists from the United States playing Korea at 11 a.m. ET/12 p.m. AT.

 

“We are excited to have the top teams in the world back in Charlottetown to compete for the gold medal,” said Brodie O’Keefe, host-committee chair for the World Sledge Hockey Challenge. “We encourage all Islanders to take advantage of this unique opportunity to experience edge-of-your-seat action from the best players in the world live at the MacLauchlan Arena.”

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!