Canada’s National Women’s Under-18 Team Announces World Championship Roster

23 players set sights on gold medal at 2017 IIHF U18 Women’s World Championship in Czech Republic

356

CALGARY, Alta. – Twenty-three players will look to bring home gold for Canada’s National Women’s Under-18 Team at the upcoming 2017 IIHF U18 Women’s World Championship, taking place Jan. 7-15 in Prerov and Zlin, Czech Republic.

 

Canada’s roster includes three goaltenders, seven defencemen and 13 forwards and was selected by Melody Davidson, Hockey Canada’s general manager of national women’s team programs, alongside the team’s coaching staff with support from Hockey Canada regional scouts.

 

“We are excited about the group of players we have selected and are confident that they all possess the qualities we were looking for in a gold-medal team,” said Troy Ryan, head coach, Canada’s National Women’s Under-18 Team. “This has been a long evaluation process and these 23 players have worked hard at our camps, with their clubs teams and at nationals and will be ready to hit the ice in Czech Republic in the Team Canada jersey.”

 

Canada’s National Women’s Under-18 Team roster for the 2017 IIHF U18 Women’s World Championship includes:

 

  • 18 players who competed for Canada’s National Women’s Under-18 Team in a three-game series against the United States in August in Calgary (D’Astous-Moreau, Bell, Buckles, David, Fillier, Hobson, Knowles, Maltais, Mitchell, Pettet, Potomak, Schroeder, Shirley, Vasko, Vorster, Watts, Wood);

 

  • Eight players who won a gold medal with Ontario Red at the 2016 National Women’s Under-18 Championship in Regina, Sask. (Buckles, Fillier, Maltais, Mitchell, Ranger, Vasko, Watts, Wood);

 

  • Seven players who won a silver medal with Canada’s National Women’s Under-18 Team at the 2016 IIHF U18 Women’s World Championship (D’Astous-Moreau, Bell, Knowles, Maltais, Potomak, Shirley, Watts);

 

  • Five players who will make their debut with Canada’s National Women’s Under-18 Team at the 2017 IIHF U18 Women’s World Championship (Beres, Elia, Hector, McQuigge, Ranger).

 

Canada opens up the 2017 IIHF U18 Women’s World Championship against Sweden on Saturday, Jan. 7 at 1:30 p.m. ET/10:30 a.m. PT, and will also take on Russia on Jan. 8 at 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT before facing the United States on Tuesday, Jan. 10 at 9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT. The bronze-medal and gold-medal games are scheduled for Saturday, Jan. 14 at 10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT and 1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT.

 

After taking home a silver medal in 2016 in St. Catharines, Ont., the Canadians will be in search of their fifth gold medal in tournament history, having won in 2010, 2012, 2013, and 2014.

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!