curling bc

Abbotsford, BC (December 19, 2016) – The final three teams have booked their tickets for the 2017 Scotties BC Women’s Curling Championship, Presented by Best Western, and now the field is complete.

Team Wark, Team Gushulak and Team Herndier all qualified at a playdown event at Abbotsford Curling Club this past weekend.

Chilliwack’s Team Wark went undefeated during the event to claim the A Event qualification spot. The team is skipped by Sarah Wark and is rounded out by third Kristin Pilote, second Stephanie Prinse and lead Michelle Dunn. They are coached by Kelowna’s Jock Tyre.

Team Gushulak, the bronze medallists from last year’s BC Scotties, won the B Event final. The Royal City/Vancouver Curling Club team is skipped by Diane Gushulak and features third Grace MacInnes, second Jessie Sanderson and lead Sandra Comadina. The team is coached by Neil Houston.

The C Event winners were Cloverdale’s Team Herndier, featuring third Nadine Wadwell, second Brianna Hanni, lead Chantel Kosmynka and fifth Sarah Recksiedler.

Victoria Curling Centre’s Team Pewarchuk, Nanaimo/Vancouver’s Team Van Osch and Vancouver/Victoria’s Team Hudyma qualified at the first open event in Vernon. Also in the field is Golden Ears Winter Club’s Team Mallett, who earned the CTRS spot (they had collected the most points at World Curling Tour/Grand Slam events) and defending champions Team Thompson.

The 2017 Scotties BC Women’s Curling Championship will take place at the Glen Harper Curling Centre, home of the Duncan Curling Club, from January 17-22. The final four games of the event will be televised on Shaw TV on January 21 and 22.

The Duncan event will showcase the top eight women’s curling teams in the province. Curlers will be playing for the opportunity to represent the province at the national Scotties Tournament of Hearts in St Catharines, Ontario, from February 18-26.