Team Daniels

New Westminster, BC (December 26, 2016) – Most teenagers in BC spend their winter break relaxing and catching up with friends and family – but that’s not the case for dozens of athletes in New Westminster.


Sixteen U21 curling teams have gathered at the Royal City Curling Club for the 2017 BC Junior Curling Championships, with the opening banquet taking place tonight, December 26.


The first draws will start tomorrow, with the finals scheduled for January 1. Curling fans are invited to watch the action live at the club, but anyone who cannot attend in person can watch the finals live on the internet at


Eight junior women’s and eight junior men’s teams are vying for the chance to represent BC at the 2017 Canadian Junior Curling Championships scheduled for January 21-29 in Esquimalt.


It is an exciting field, with former Canadian and World champions squaring off to win the title.


Among the contenders is Team Brown, of Kamloops, with Corryn Brown, Marika Van Osch (Nanaimo), Dezaray Hawes (Anmore) and Samantha Fisher (Kamloops) – they have just returned from China where they won an international event representing Canada. The team is coached by Allison MacInnes.


Also in the women’s field is Team Daniels, skipped by last year’s winning skip, Sarah Daniels and featuring her sister Megan Daniels, both from Delta, as well as Sarah Loken (Delta), Sydney Brilz (Victoria) and coach Katie Witt. The two Daniels sisters won silver at last year’s Canadian junior championships. Sarah then went on to play as an alternate for Team Canada at the world championships, helping to take home the gold medal for Canada.


On the men’s side, two Royal City rinks have had a great season so far and are hoping this will be their year. Team Kiss, with Abbotsford’s Jordan Kiss, Travis Cameron (Richmond), Nicholas Umbach (Coquitlam) and Derek Chandler (Victoria) were the winners of the BC Junior Curling Tour. In second place was Team McCrady, with Tri-Cities players Matthew McCrady, Zac Curtis and Jacob Umbach and Brayden Carpenter from Richmond.


Team Tardi, from Langley Curling Centre/Royal City Curling Club, won bronze at the national junior championships in 2016. The team features skip Tyler Tardi of Cloverdale and third Sterling Middleton, who recently moved from Fort St John to Burnaby. The two youngsters were gold medal winners at the 2016 Youth Olympic Games in Lillehammer. The team also features second Jordan Tardi of Cloverdale, lead Nicholas Meister of Langley and coach Paul Tardi.

Also in the field is Team Habkirk from Victoria Curling Centre featuring skip Kyle Habkirk (Coquitlam) with third Duncan Silversides, second Ryan Cassidy and lead Alex Hovarth all hailing from the Victoria area. The team is coached by Ken MacDonald.


Team Proctor from Royal City Curling Club features Tyler Proctor (Burnaby), Horace Mak (New Westminster), Matthew Chan (Vancouver) and Breyden Chong (Burnaby). They are coached by Chris Summers.


Team Sato hails from Royal City, Coquitlam and Cloverdale Curling Clubs and features Hayato Sato (Coquitlam), Dawson Ballard (Cloverdale), Troy Chong and Joshua Miki. The team, coached by Bryan Miki and Len Chong, is eligible for the U18 championships so will be among one of the youngest to compete at this U21 junior event.


Team Anderson, from Grand Forks Curling Club, is coached by Dave Bartlett and features Colin Anderson, Devin Anderson, Elliott Starchuk, Dawson Reid and alternate Anthony Schembri.


Team Love, from Vernon Curling Club, features the Vernon duo of Thomas Love and Erik Colwell with Brendan Chapple (Armstrong) and Logan Miron (Kelowna). The team is coached by Dean Chapple.


On the junior women’s side, Team Fisher, from Chilliwack Curling Club, features Cierra Fisher, of Kamloops, and the Lower Mainland trio of Cailin Cooke (Chilliwack), Kylie Karoway (Surrey) and Jasmin Jani (Chilliwack). The team is coached by Jay Batch.


Team Bourassa from Delta Thistle Curling Club features skip Megan Bourassa (Delta), third Catera Park (Coquitlam), second Kim Bonneau (Abbotsford), lead Heather Sinclair (Delta) and coach Marion McNeill.


Team Coulombe, from Victoria Curling Centre, features Mariah Coulombe (Victoria), Taylor Reese-Hansen (Kitimat), Jordan Koster (Courtenay), Kirsten Zucchet (Chilliwack), with coaches Andrew Komlodi and Bob Coulombe.


Team Connell, from the Prince George Golf and Curling Club, all live in Prince George and are coached by Rick Fewster. Members include Alyssa Connell, Bailey Eberherr, Jordan Henson and Erin Ross.


Team McGillivray, from Vernon Curling Club, features Megan McGillivray (Kelowna), Winter Harvey (Vernon), Jaelyn Cotter (Vernon) and Katelyn McGillivray. The team is coached by six-times BC Men’s Champion Jim Cotter.


Team Buchy, from Kimberley Curling Club, feature skip Alysha Buchy, third Kaila Buchy, second Haylie Farquar and lead Arissa Toffolo. The team is coached by Tom Buchy.


The winner of the BC junior men’s championship and the winner of the BC junior women’s championship will represent BC at the 2017 Canadian Junior Curling Championships being staged in Esquimalt from January 21-29, 2017.


The Royal City Curling Club event will be two eight-team round robins running simultaneously.