New Westminster, BC (January 1, 2017) – Team Tardi started 2017 with a bang when they defeated the Victoria rink of Kyle Habkirk 11-5 in eight ends.


Langley/Royal City’s Team Tardi faced Victoria’s Team Habkirk in the men’s final which wrapped up this afternoon. The Tardi rink featuring Cloverdale-based Tardi (skip) and his brother Jordan Tardi (second), Burnaby’s Sterling Middleton (third) and Langley’s Nicholas Meister (lead) scored four in the second and fourth ends to give them a comfortable lead that they held onto until the teams shook hands at the conclusion of the eighth end.


The Habkirk rink featuring skip Kyle Habkirk from Coquitlam, third Duncan Silversides, second Ryan Cassidy and lead Alex Hovarth all hailing from the Victoria area.

The McCrady rink of Port Coquitlam’s Matthew McCrady, Richmond’s Brayden Carpenter, Coquitlam’s Zac Curtis and Coquitlam’s Jacob Umbach were awarded the bronze medal on Saturday night.

Earlier in the day Team Brown defeated Team Daniels in the junior women’s final to clinch the win. The team features Corryn Brown from Kamloops, third Marika Van Osch from Nanaimo, second Dezaray Hawes from Anmore and lead Samantha Fisher from Kamloops. They were undefeated throughout the competition.


They Delta Thistle/Royal City Curling Club-based Team Daniels took home the silver medal. The team features Sarah and Megan Daniels and Sarah Loken from Delta as well as Sydney Brilz from Victoria.

The Prince George rink of Alyssa Connell, third Bailey Eberherr, second Jordan Henson and lead Erin Ross won the bronze medal on Saturday night.

Team Tardi and Team Brown will represent BC at the 2017 Canadian Junior Curling Championships scheduled for January 21-29 in Esquimalt.