New Westminster, BC (December 31, 2016) –  The final contenders for the 2017 BC Junior Curling Championship titles have been decided.


Four teams have booked their tickets to the finals which start tomorrow (January 1) at 11 a.m. (junior women’s) and 3 p.m. (junior men’s).


Team Brown, with skip Corryn Brown from Kamloops, third Marika Van Osch from Nanaimo, second Dezaray Hawes from Anmore and lead Samantha Fisher from Kamloops, remain undefeated in the competition. They face the Delta Thistle and Royal City Curling Club team of Sarah and Megan Daniels from Delta as well as Sarah Loken (Delta) and Sydney Brilz (Victoria). The two Daniels sisters were part of the winning BC junior women’s team last year and won silver at last year’s Canadian junior championships.

On Saturday night, Team Daniels beat the Prince George rink of Alyssa Connell, third Bailey Eberherr, second Jordan Henson and lead Erin Ross in the semi-finals. The Connell rink got through two tiebreakers to make it through to the page 3 vs 4 playoffs and then the semi finals. They earned the bronze medal for their efforts.

Langley/Royal City Curling Club’s Team Tardi, with Cloverdale-based Tardi (skip) and his brother Jordan Tardi (second), Burnaby’s Sterling Middleton (third) and Langley’s Nicholas Meister (lead), bested frontrunners Team McCrady on Saturday afternoon to clinch the bye to the final. Team Tardi were last year’s BC Junior Men’s Champions and won bronze nationally.


They face Team Habkirk from Victoria Curling Centre in the 3 p.m. final tomorrow. The Habkirk rink of skip Kyle Habkirk from Coquitlam, third Duncan Silversides, second Ryan Cassidy and lead Alex Hovarth all hailing from the Victoria area beat Team McCrady in the semi-finals to earn the chance to win the title.

The McCrady rink of Port Coquitlam’s Matthew McCrady, Richmond’s Brayden Carpenter, Coquitlam’s Zac Curtis and Coquitlam’s Jacob Umbach earned the bronze medal.

Sixteen U21 curling teams were at the Royal City Curling Club in New Westminster for the 2017 BC Junior Curling Championships, with all but four teams now eliminated from the competition. Curling fans are invited to watch the action live at the club, but anyone who cannot attend in person can watch the finals live on the internet at


The winning teams will represent BC at the 2017 Canadian Junior Curling Championships scheduled for January 21-29 in Esquimalt.