MEXICO CITY, Mexico – The 2016-17 PGA TOUR season returns to action this week in Hawaii for the SBS Tournament of Champions, where past champions of the World Golf Championships-Mexico Championship Dustin Johnson and Patrick Reed will tee it up for the first time in 2017. Of the 32 players in the prestigious field made up only of players who won PGA TOUR events in the 2016 calendar year, 22 would currently be qualified if the Mexico Championship was held today. The Mexico Championship is set to take place in Mexico City Feb. 28 – March 5, 2017 with tickets currently on sale.
Johnson, winner of the 2015 Mexico Championship, is coming off his most successful season on the PGA TOUR that saw the 32-year-old win three times on TOUR and be named PGA TOUR Player of the Year. Johnson qualified for his seventh SBS Tournament of Champions appearance by virtue of his first major title at the U.S. Open in June. The Myrtle Beach, S.C., native then won his next start at the World Golf Championships-Bridgestone Invitational – his third victory in a World Golf Championships event – before capping off his season with a win in the FedExCup Playoffs at the BMW Championship.
Reed won the 2014 Mexico Championship and has continued to prove himself as one of the PGA TOUR’s brightest young stars. The now five-time PGA TOUR winner collected his lone victory on the 2015-16 season at THE NORTHERN TRUST, the traditional opening event of the FedExCup Playoffs. Reed held off Rickie Fowler and other pursuers to win the title by a stroke and earn a berth into the field in Hawaii this week. But perhaps Reed’s most memorable performance of 2016 came in the Ryder Cup, where the 26-year-old secured 3.5 points in a winning effort for the United States, which ended a streak of three losses in the biennial matches with Europe.
Both Reed and Johnson are also past champions of the SBS Tournament of Champions. Johnson took home the trophy in 2013, while Reed won in a playoff in 2015.
Twenty-two of the 32 players in this week’s field would qualify for the Mexico Championship if it was held today. Those players inside the top 50 of the Official World Golf Ranking as of Feb. 20 and Feb. 27 who are not already exempt will officially qualify for the Mexico Championship. Additionally, the top 10 players in the FedExCup points list as of Feb. 27 who are not already exempt will also qualify.
A new qualification for this year’s championship is that the highest-ranked Mexican player in the Official World Golf Ranking as of Feb. 20 that is not otherwise eligible will qualify for the Mexico Championship. The current top-ranked Mexican players are as follows:
468. Rodolfo Cazaubon
543. Sebastian Vazquez
579. Carlos Ortiz