2017 BC Scotties get underway in Duncan

Team BC, Skip: Karla Thompson Third: Kristen Recksiedler Second: Tracey Lavery Lead: Trysta Vandale

Duncan, BC (January 18, 2017) – The 2017 Scotties BC Women’s Curling Championship, Presented by Best Western, is underway – and if fans cannot make the trip to Duncan, they can view the final four games on Shaw TV.


The second and third draws of the 2017 BC Scotties are happening at the Glen Harper Curling Centre, home of the Duncan Curling Club, today (Jan 18). Action started at 7pm yesterday and continues until January 22.


Games at 2pm and 7pm on Saturday, January 21, will be televised. The semi-final at 11am and the final at 4pm on Sunday, January 22, will be televised. All games will be on Shaw TV.


The roster features defending champions Team Thompson, with Kamloops teacher Karla Thompson at the helm of a team which also features Kristen Recksiedler of Coquitlam, Erin Pincott of Kamloops and Trysta Vandale of Port Moody.


Team Mallett earned their berth by securing the most points on the Canadian Team Ranking System list at events leading up to the championship. The team features Marla Mallett (Walnut Grove), as skip, Shannon Aleksic (Abbotsford, third) and sisters Brette Richards (Kelowna, second) and Blaine DeJager (Prince George, lead).


Victoria Curling Centre’s Team Pewarchuk is skipped by Dailene Pewarchuk (nee Sivertson). The team features third Patti Knezevic (Prince George), second Adina Tasaka (Richmond) and lead Rachelle Kallechy (Victoria).


Nanaimo/Vancouver’s Team Van Osch, features Nanaimo sisters Kesa and Kalia Van Osch, second Shawna Jensen, from Tsawwassen and lead Amy Gibson, from Vancouver.


Vancouver/Victoria’s Team Hudyma features Vancouver’s Lindsay Hudyma, Vancouver-based Holly Donaldson and the Victoria duo of Stephanie Jackson-Baier and Carley Sandwith.  Georgina Wheatcroft, two-time world champion and Olympian (Salt Lake City) is coaching the team.


Chilliwack Curling Club’s Team Wark, is skipped by Sarah Wark, who has her roots in Duncan. It is rounded out by third Kristin Pilote (Squamish), second Stephanie Prinse (Chilliwack) and lead Michelle Dunn (North Vancouver). They are coached by Kelowna’s Jock Tyre.


Team Gushulak, the bronze medallists from last year’s BC Scotties, is skipped by Diane Gushulak, of Vancouver, and features third Grace MacInnes (Langley), second Jessie Sanderson (Coquitlam) and lead Sandra Comadina (Vancouver). The team is coached by Neil Houston.


Cloverdale’s Team Herndier, featuring skip Julie Herndier (Delta), third Nadine Wadwell (Surrey), second Brianna Hanni (Abbotsford), and lead Chantel Kosmynka (Delta).


The Duncan event will showcase the top eight women’s curling teams in the province competing in a round robin event followed by a page playoff. Curlers will be playing for the opportunity to represent the province at the national Scotties Tournament of Hearts in St Catharines, Ontario, from February 18-26.


To view the end by end scores, and the schedule, visit http://playdowns.curlbc.ca.

Scott Harrigan
Your #1 source for community and amateur sports related news on Vancouver Island, British Columbia and beyond! Send stories to scottharriganisn@gmail.com