Tale of the Weekend

VICTORIA – The UVic Vikes women’s rugby team is making history this weekend by competing in the inaugural tournament of the Canada West Women’s Rugby Sevens Series.

The series begins this weekend with Edmonton, with the Vikes playing six games over the course of January 21 and 22.

UVic will play one game against each of the University of Alberta, the University of  the Fraser Valley, the University of British Columbia, the University of Lethbridge, and the University of Calgary before ending the weekend with either a first, third or fifth place match.

Further tournaments will be held at the University of British Columbia (February 4 and 5) and the University of Victoria (February 18 and 19).

The winner of the series will be crowned following the final tournament of the series, as determined by cumulative series points.

Twelve Vikes make up the team that travels to Edmonton, ready to face the challenges of increased space and speed inherent in the sevens version of rugby.

Game Info
Jan. 2110:00 a.m. – vs University of Alberta – Edmonton, AB
Jan. 2112:15 p.m. – vs University of Fraser Valley – Edmonton, AB
Jan. 212:30 p.m. – vs University of British Columbia– Edmonton, AB
Jan. 2210:25 a.m. – vs University of Lethbridge – Edmonton, AB
Jan. 221:05 p.m. – vs University of Calgary – Edmonton, AB

About the Canada West Women’s Rugby Sevens Series:

2017 marks the first season of the Canada West Women’s Rugby Sevens Series, which has been made possible thanks to Canada West’s partnership with B2ten and Rugby Canada. Through their joint support, which will include scholarship opportunities for players at all six competing institutions, B2ten and Rugby Canada are committed to helping Canadian female athletes pursue their athletic careers, including an opportunity to progress to the national team.

The inaugural Canada West Women’s Rugby Sevens Series champion will be crowned February 19 at the University of Victoria, as determined by cumulative series points.

2017 Canada West Women’s Rugby Sevens Series tournament dates: University of Alberta (Jan. 21-22), University of British Columbia (Feb. 4- 5) and University of Victoria (Feb. 18-19).