EDMONTON – The inaugural season of Canada West women’s rugby sevens wraps up this weekend on Vancouver Island, as the conference’s six teams head to the University of Victoria to do battle on Wallace Field.

Initially scheduled to be the third and final stop on the 2017 CW Women’s Rugby Sevens Series, this weekend’s two-day event will mark the second tournament of the season, after UBC’s chance to host was dashed by heavy snowfall two weeks ago.

The conference’s inaugural rugby 7s champion will be crowned Sunday, based on the final tournament standings.

This weekend’s tournament will give rugby fans on the west coast their first glimpse of the series, which is a three-year pilot project that has been made possible thanks to a partnership with B2ten and Rugby Canada.

Looking to rekindle some momentum this weekend are the host Victoria Vikes, who went a perfect 6-0-0 at the series’ first tournament in Edmonton back in January. With the tournament victory, the Vikes earned 10 series points and are two up on the Calgary Dinos atop the table.

Victoria’s win in Edmonton came courtesy a 12-5 victory over Calgary in the first-place game, which was a rematch of the Canada West 15s championship game in the fall when the Dinos earned the program’s first conference title.

Slotting in behind the Vikes and Dinos in the series standings heading into the final event are the Alberta Pandas (six series points), who went 4-2 on home turf.

Rounding out the standings after the first tournament were the Lethbridge Pronghorns (four series points), UBC Thunderbirds (two series points), and UFV Cascades (one series point) – who are newcomers to the Canada West rugby scene.

Another 10 points will be handed out to this weekend’s tournament winner, as the six teams look to cap off their abbreviated rugby 7s season on a winning note.

Series Standings
Victoria – 10
Calgary – 8
Alberta  – 6
Lethbridge – 4
UBC – 2
Fraser Valley – 1

About the Canada West Women’s Rugby Sevens Series:

2017 marks the first season of the Canada West Women’s Rugby Sevens Series, which has been made possible thanks to Canada West’s partnership with B2ten and Rugby Canada. Through their joint support, which will include scholarship opportunities for players at all six competing institutions, B2ten and Rugby Canada are committed to helping Canadian female athletes pursue their athletic careers, including an opportunity to progress to the national team.

The inaugural Canada West Women’s Rugby Sevens Series champion will be crowned February 19 at the University of Victoria, as determined by cumulative series points.

2017 Canada West Women’s Rugby Sevens Series tournament dates: University of Alberta (Jan. 21-22), University of British Columbia (Feb. 4- 5) and University of Victoria (Feb. 18-19).