The best senior curlers in BC have gathered in Salmon Arm for the 2017 BC Senior Curling Championships.

Eight men’s teams and eight women’s teams from across the province are vying for the opportunity to represent BC at the 2017 Canadian Senior Curling Championships in Fredericton, New Brunswick.

On the men’s side, most of the team that won last year’s event will be back to defend their BC title. Kelowna’s Rob Koffski will skip the team made up of defending champions Dave Stephenson (Kelowna), Don Freschi (Trail) and Fred Thomson (Nelson). The team made it through to the championship round at nationals last year when they were skipped by Bob Ursel. They will be joined in Salmon Arm by another team with a Kootenays connection – Team Kent, from Cranbrook and Elkford.

The men’s teams from the Lower Mainland include Richmond’s Team Moss, Royal City’s Team Wright, Langley/Vancouver/Penticton’s Team Lepine and Royal City/Langley’s Team McArdle.

Representing the north will be Quesnel’s Team Plant and representing Vancouver Island will be Duncan’s Team Craig.

On the women’s side, Teams Richter, Cowan, Deputan and Lepine will represent the Lower Mainland. Karen Lepine, who skipped a team which won gold nationally in the 2014-15 season, is at the helm of a new team in 2016-17. This year’s team includes Susan Beuk, who also won gold nationally in 2014-15, as well as Claire Morrison and Karen VanOs.

One women’s team will be supported by a home crowd, with Salmon Arm’s Team Jenkins winning the Okanagan berth.

The women’s team representing the Kootenays is Team Nichol from Castlegar Curling Club, and the women’s team representing Vancouver Island is Team Noble, from Qualicum and District Curling Club.

Team Bulleid from Terrace rounds out the women’s roster.