BCHL awards finalists announced


After the first round of voting by coaches, the finalists from each of the BCHL’s three divisions have been determined for the annual league awards.

Another round of coaches voting will decide the winner for each trophy and the results will be announced next week before the playoffs begin.

Here are the finalists for the 2016-17 BCHL awards:

MVP (Vern Dye Memorial Trophy)

Island: Matthew Galajda, goaltender, Victoria Grizzlies
Mainland: Brendan Harris, forward, Wenatchee Wild
Interior: Mat Robson, goaltender, Penticton Vees

Rookie of the Year (Bruce Allison Memorial Trophy)
Island: Cam Donaldson, forward, Powell River Kings
Mainland: Brendan Budy, forward, Langley Rivermen
Interior: Zach Risteau, forward, Merritt Centennials

Top Defenceman Trophy
Island: Jake Stevens, Victoria Grizzlies
Mainland: Tyler Anderson, Prince George Spruce Kings
Interior: Michael Ufberg, Vernon Vipers 

Most Sportsmanlike Player (Bob Fenton Trophy)

Island: Cam Donaldson, forward, Powell River Kings
Mainland: Brendan Harris, forward, Wenatchee Wild
Interior: Grant Cruikshank, forward, Penticton Vees

Coach of the Year (Joe Tennant Memorial Trophy)

Island: Craig Didmon, Victoria Grizzlies
Mainland: Bliss Littler, Wenatchee Wild
Interior: Fred Harbinson, Penticton Vees 

The BCHL’s goaltender awards are not voted on. The Goaltending Award will go to the goalie with lowest goals-against average and at least 1,000 minutes played. The Wally Forslund Award for best goalie tandem goes to the goalie teammates with the lowest combined goals-against average.

Other league awards that are not voted on are the Brett Hull Award for top scorer and the Ron Boileau Memorial Trophy for the team with the best regular-season record.

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!