VICTORIA – The UVic Vikes men’s rugby team scored 29 unanswered points to cruise to a 43-10 victory over the Vancouver Rowing Club at Wallace Field on February 25.

“It was similar to their game last week, they had trouble sustaining their level of play,” said Vikes head coach Doug Tate of Rowers. “They are just decimated with injuries so toward the end they were struggling a bit.”

“We were pretty healthy and with our subs coming in we had a real advantage.”

It was a balanced day offensively for the Vikes with seven different players getting on the score sheet. Oliver Nott scored two tries, while Johnny Franklin, James PitbladoSpencer Cooper, Will Kelly and Morgan Tate each crossed the try line once. Fergus Hall rounded out the scoring with four successful conversions.

“For having five games under our belt I thought we played okay, we made it hard on ourselves early in the game but sometimes that’s just how it goes,” said Tate.
“At the end of the day, I’m pleased.”

The teams traded tries to start the match and while a late try from Cooper sent the Vikes into the halftime break with the 19-10 lead, that was thanks in large part to a Vikes defence that bent but never broke in two extended try line pushes from Rowers.

Rowers again put the Vikes under some pressure to start the second half, but once again the defence was able to weather the storm and allow the Vikes speed advantage to put the game out reach halfway through the final half.

“They were deserving of their points early in the game and for the first part of the second half we played too much in our end,” said Tate. “We have to put more pressure on the other team, but it was a good game and we’ll take the win.”

The Vikes will continue to try and climb their way up the BC Premier League standings on March 4 when they take on the Castaway Wanderers at Windsor Park.

1        2           F
UVIC      19       20         43
ROW      10        0         10

Oliver Nott (2T), Fergus Hall (4C), Johnny Franklin (1T), James Pitblado (1T), Spencer Cooper (1T), Will Kelly (1T) Morgan Tate (1T)