2017 BCHL Award Winners


All the votes have been counted and the winners of the 2017 BCHL Awards have been determined.

There was a list of three finalists for each award, one from each division. The winners were chosen after a second round of coaches voting and are as follows:

  • Vern Dye Memorial Trophy (MVP) – Brendan Harris, Wenatchee Wild
  • Bruce Allison Memorial Trophy (Rookie of the Year) – Cam Donaldson, Powell River Kings
  • Top Defenceman Award – Jake Stevens, Victoria Grizzlies
  • Bob Fenton Trophy (Most Sportsmanlike) – Brendan Harris, Wenatchee Wild
  • Joe Tennant Memorial Trophy (Coach of the Year) – Bliss Littler, Wenatchee Wild

Non-voting awards:

  • Brett Hull Trophy (Top Scorer) – Brendan Harris, Wenatchee Wild (23 goals, 75 assists, 98 points)
  • Goaltending Trophy (lowest goals-against average + 1,000 minutes played) – Darion Hanson, Vernon Vipers (1.84)
  • Wally Forslund Trophy (goalie tandem with the lowest combined goals-against average) – Mat Robson and Nolan Hildebrand, Penticton Vees (2.14)
  • Ron Boileau Memorial Trophy (best regular-season record) – Wenatchee Wild (45-9-4-0, 94 points)


Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!