U SPORTS Women's Basketball Final 8

TORONTO (U SPORTS) – The Carleton Ravens have earned the No.1 seed heading into the Women’s Final 8 Basketball Championship in Victoria this week.


The seedings were announced Monday for the Final 8 tournaments – the women’s tournament being hosted at the University of Victoria for the first time since 1993.


The national tournament gets under way Thursday at the CARSA Performance Gym, culminating next Sunday, with the final at 1:00 p.m. Pacific (4:00 p.m. Eastern), live on Sportsnet 360 and SN Now. Saturday’s semifinals will also be broadcast live on Sportsnet 360 and SN Now (2:00 p.m. & 4:00 p.m. Pacific).


All 11 games from the competition will be webcast on U SPORTS TV.


On the women’s side, the Ravens (OUA Champions) are joined in Victoria by the No. 2 Saskatchewan Huskies (Canada West champs), No. 3 Queen’s Gaels (OUA finalists), No. 4 McGill Martlets (RSEQ champs), No. 5 Regina Cougars (Canada West finalists), No. 6 Cape Breton Capers (AUS champs), No. 7 Laval Rouge et Or (At-large berth) and No. 8 Victoria Vikes (hosts).


The women’s matchups on Thursday include Queen’s vs. Cape Breton  in the 12 p.m. PT opener, followed by Saskatchewan vs. Laval at 2 p.m. PT, McGill vs. Regina at 6 p.m. PT and host Victoria vs. Carleton at 8 p.m. PT.


The Ravens women are tournament favourites after winning their first OUA Critelli Cup in program history via a 49-41 victory over host Queen’s. Carleton went 21-1 between the regular season and playoffs, running the table after losing its opening game of the year.


Laval received the at-large berth (wild card) following a vote by a committee of U SPORTS coaches. The Rouge et Or, who went 14-2 in conference play, were also ranked in all 14 Top 10 polls, including five straight weeks at No.1.




  1. Carleton Ravens (OUA champions: 18-1 regular season / 3-0 playoffs)

2.Saskatchewan Huskies (Canada West champions: 15-5 regular season / 4-1 playoffs)

  1. Queen’s Gaels (OUA finalists: 18-1 regular season / 2-1 playoffs)
  2. McGill Martlets (RSEQ champions: 9-7 regular season / 2-0 playoffs)
  3. Regina Cougars (Canada West finalists: 17-3 regular season / 3-1 playoffs)
  4. Cape Breton Capers (AUS champions: 13-7 regular season / 3-0 playoffs)
  5. Laval Rouge et Or (At-large berth: 14-2 regular season / 0-1 playoffs)
  6. Victoria Vikes (host: 12-8 regular season / 3-2 playoffs)



Wednesday, March 8

6:30 p.m. 2017 U SPORTS Women’s Basketball All-Canadian Awards


Thursday, March 9

12:00 p.m. Quarter-final 1: No.3 Queen’s vs. No. 6 Cape Breton

2:00 p.m. Quarter-final 2: No. 2 Saskatchewan vs. No. 7 Laval

6:00 p.m. Quarter-final 3: No. 4 McGill vs. No. 5 Regina

8:00 p.m. Quarter-final 4: No. 1 Carleton vs. No. 8 Victoria

Friday, March 10

6:00 p.m. Consolation 1: Loser QF 1 vs. Loser QF 2

8:00 p.m. Consolation 2: Loser QF 3 vs. Loser QF 4

Saturday, March 11

2:00 p.m. Semifinal 1: Winner QF 1 vs. Winner QF 2 (Sportsnet 360/SN Now)

4:00 p.m. Semifinal 2: Winner QF 3 vs. Winner QF 4 (Sportsnet 360/SN Now)

7:00 p.m. 5th-place game


Sunday, March 12

10:00 a.m. Bronze

1:00 p.m. Final (Sportsnet 360/SN Now)