Sixteen master curling teams have gathered in the Kootenays for the chance to represent BC at the 2017 Canadian Masters Curling Championships.


There is fierce competition at this event, with seasoned competitors looking to add another BC title to their resume.


The Cranbrook event for curlers 60 and over started yesterday (Tuesday, March 7), and continues until Sunday, March 12. The winning male team and the winning female team will go on to compete for BC at nationals from April 2-9, 2017, in Guelph, Ontario.


Among the competitors on the women’s side is Lynne Noble, who recently won the 2017 BC Senior Championship (for curlers 50 and over). Playing alongside her, Lorraine Jeffries, from Port Alberni, has three senior championship titles under her belt.


On the men’s side, Rob Koffski, who has previously won the BC Men’s, BC Seniors, BC Mixed and BC Masters titles, is on the roster leading a team that also features Brier and World Champion (1994)  Gerry Richard. Gerald Kent, who is the hometown favourite with his Cranbrook team, has also won a BC Men’s title and a pair of BC Masters titles. Ken McHargue was also on Kent’s 1991 BC Men’s rink that claimed the BC crown.


Team Watson, playing for Chilliwack Curling Club, features two curlers from the 1985 BC team that competed at the Brier, Ken Watson and Doug Meger. They remain teammates more than 30 years later.


A full team roster is attached with home town information, where available. The qualifying teams from the women’s side were Team Noble from Qualicum & District Curling Club, Team Strilesky from Nanaimo Curling Club, Team McLeod from Nelson, Castlegar and Trail curling clubs, Team Klebe from Chilliwack, Cloverdale and Richmond curling clubs, Team Mick from Marpole Curling Club, Team Clark from Royal City and Langley curling clubs, Team Bentley from Quesnel Curling Centre and Team Blashko from Summerland, Oliver and Kelowna curling clubs.


The teams who qualified on the men’s side were Team Walker from Esquimalt and Glen Meadows Curling Club, Team Kent from Cranbrook and Elkford Curling Club, Team Beaudry from Trail Curling Club, Team Rafter from Tunnel Town Curling Club, Team Pughe from Royal City Curling Club, Team Watson from Chilliwack Curling Club, Team Koffski from Kelowna Curling Club and Team McKie from Sparwood Curling Club.


BC will play host to the 2018 Canadian Masters Curling Championships. The event will be co-hosted by Peace Arch Curling Club and Cloverdale Curling Club.