Inaugural BC U18 Curling Championships set to start in Nanaimo

BC U18 Curling Championships

The inaugural BC U18 Curling Championships are set to begin in Nanaimo later this week.


The teams will be making history as they will be participating in the province’s first championships in this age category. The BC U18 Curling Championships, for curlers 17 and under as of June 30, 2016, take place at Nanaimo Curling Centre from Thursday, March 16 to Sunday, March 19, 2017.


These championships were previously for those 16 and under and it was called the Juvenile Curling Championships and the winners went to the Optimists International U18 Curling event (which featured teams from several provinces – but not all provinces – as well as places like the USA and Japan).

Now the provincial event is a U18 event and the BC winners will go on to compete in the first-ever Canadian U18 Curling Championships, featuring fourteen teams from all provinces and territories (including two from Ontario).


Among the competitors will be Tyler Tardi and Sterling Middleton, who recently represented Canada at the 2017 VoIP Defender World Junior Curling Championships (for curlers under the age of 21). Also on the roster is Sarah Daniels, a silver medalist at last year’s Canadian juniors.


Fans are being encouraged to wear red and white to cheer on their favourite teams as part of Nanaimo Curling Centre’s celebration of Canada’s 150th birthday.


The U18 girls’ event features Team Drexel, Team Daniels, Team Douglas, Team Richards, Team Hessel, Team Connor, Team Cotter and Team Schmidt.


The U18 boys’ event features Team Tardi, Team Sato, Team Silversides, Team Geiger, Team Brown, Team Love, Team Raber and Team Murray.

Girls’ Team Name Home curling club(s) Skip Third Second Lead Fifth Coach
Drexel Coquitlam/Cloverdale/Chilliwack Heather Drexel Everly Royea Bailey Burke Madeline Britz   Al Smith/Ken Britz
Daniels Delta Thistle Sarah Daniels Catera Park Kim Bonneau Sarah Loken   Katie Witt
Douglas Parksville/Alberni Valley/Victoria Rebecca Douglas Julia Kresse Libby Elliott Michaela Morrill Lauren Onushko Dave Douglas
Richards Comox Valley Curling Centre Gracelyn Richards Chanelle Meeres Keelie Duncan Bryn Woloshyn   Darren Richards/Adam Duncan
Hessel Invermere and District Curling Centre Kaitlyn Hessel Alexa Von Niessen Lily Flamand Abigail Wells Anna Stevens Holly Jones
Connor Prince George Golf and Curling Club Carly Connor Loreleo Guidos Hannah Lindner Jordan Henson   Doug Dalziel
Cotter Vernon Curling Club Jaelyn Cotter Winter Harvey Katelyn McGillivray Cassidy Schwaerzle Elijah Meixner Jim Cotter
Schmidt Winfield Curling Club Clare Schmidt Abby Otteson Hunter Libke Jaiden Lloyd   Dave McGarry



Boys’ Team Name Home curling club(s) Skip Third Second Lead Coach
Tardi Langley/Victoria Tyler Tardi Sterling Middleton Scott Gray Derek Chandler Paul Tardi
Sato Cloverdale/Royal City/Coquitlam Hayato Sato Dawson Ballard Troy Chong Joshua Miki Bryan Miki/Len Chong
Silversides Victoria Curling Centre Duncan Silversides Zane Bartlett Ryan Cassidy Dennis Williams Ken MacDonald
Geiger Invermere and District Curling Centre Matt Schiman Tyler Powell Jordan Geiger  Jacob Umbach Joe Evanoff
Brown Prince George Golf and Curling Club James Brown Alasdair Wilson Tyler Slaney Andrew Sherstan Bill Fisher
Love Vernon Curling Club Thomas Love Erik Colwell Brendan Chapple Logan Miron Dean Chapple
Raber Vernon/Salmon Arm Adam Raber Ben Morin Andrew Colwell Gray Simms Dale Hofer
Murray Kelowna/Kamloops Ramsay Murray Tyler Makar Ewan Murray Jaryn MacInnes Monica Makar



The winners of the U18 events will go on to compete at the first-ever national U18 event, which will take place in Moncton, New Brunswick, from April 17-22.


The format of the event is a modified round robin with pools.