Cougars Advance To Play Big Strong Campbell River Storm Team

Campbell River Storm

ESQUIMALT, B.C. – Anthony Ciurro stopped all 31 shots he faced as the Victoria Cougars blanked the Kerry Park Islanders 3-0 on Thursday to advance to the VIJHL Championship Series.

Scoring for Victoria, who won the South Island Division final in five games, were Tyler Vanuden, Kenny Britton, and Dom Kolbeins.

The Cougars will now face the Campbell River Storm for the Brent Patterson Memorial Trophy.

After a scoreless first period, Vanuden opened the scoring at 12:27 of the second with Victoria on the power play.  Vanuden, from the high slot, fired a wrist shot over the right shoulder of a screened Rett Rook for his eighth goal of the playoffs.

There would be no scoring until the 9:17 mark of the third period when Kenny Britton rushed down the left wing and wired the puck off the far post and in.

Dom Kolbeins added an insurance goal for the Cougars at 13:39.  From the slot, Grayden Hohl slid a perfect pass down low to Kolbeins for an easy tap in.  The goal came with Kerry Park playing shorthanded.

Victoria went 2-for-7 with the man advantage; meanwhile, the Islanders finished 0-for-5.

Rook made 33 saves in the loss.

Thursday marked the final appearances from Kerry Park’s four overage players – Jacob Malloch, Jordan Martin, Josh Poland, and Garnett Roberts.

The Cougars would like to wish these four players the best of luck in their future endeavours.



1st star, Anthony Ciurro (Saves:  31, Save Percentage:  1.000)

2nd star, Tyler Vanuden (Goals:  1, Assists:  1)

3rd star, Carl Ewert (Goals:  0, Assists:  1)