Penn State Wins Second Straight NCAA Wrestling Championship

ST. LOUIS – Penn State won the 2017 NCAA Wrestling Championships on Saturday at Scottrade Center in St. Louis, capturing the seventh NCAA wrestling title in school history and second in a row. The Nittany Lions’ title marked the 11th straight year that a Big Ten school has claimed the NCAA Championship, with six of Penn State’s crowns coming in the last seven years.

The Nittany Lions’ Zain Retherford earned his second straight 149-pound title, while Jason Nolf claimed the 157-pound championship. Vincenzo Joseph won the 165-pound title, while Mark Hall was victorious at 174 pounds and Bo Nickal won the 184-pound division.

Penn State amassed 146.5 points, while fellow Big Ten member Ohio State came in second with 110 points. Four other Big Ten schools also finished among the top 10 — Iowa in fourth place (97 points), Minnesota in seventh (62.5), Nebraska in ninth (59.5) and Michigan in 10th place (47.5).

Two other Big Ten wrestlers claimed individual titles at the NCAA Championships. Iowa’s Cory Clark secured the 133-pound championship, while Ohio State’s Kyle Snyder earned his second-straight 285-pound crown, becoming the first wrestler in NCAA history to win an Olympic gold and subsequently win an NCAA Championship and the fifth wrestler in NCAA history to win an Olympic medal followed by an NCAA Championship.

Thirty-six Big Ten wrestlers earned All-America honors. The full list of Big Ten All-Americans, along with their weight class and finish at the NCAA Championships, can be found below.

Zac Brunson, Illinois, 174 (6th)

Isaiah Martinez, Illinois, 165 (2nd)

Zane Richards, Illinois, 133 (7th)

Nathan Jackson, Indiana, 184 (8th)

Sammy Brooks, Iowa, 184 (4th)

Cory Clark, Iowa, 133 (1st)

Thomas Gilman, Iowa, 125 (3rd)

Michael Kemerer, Iowa, 157 (3rd)

Brandon Sorensen, Iowa, 149 (3rd)

Myles Amine, Michigan, 174 (4th)

Logan Massa, Michigan, 165 (3rd)

Stevan Micic, Michigan, 133 (4th)

Michael Kroells, Minnesota, 285 (7th)

Ethan Lizak, Minnesota, 125 (2nd)

Brett Pfarr, Minnesota, 197 (2nd)

Thomas Thorn, Minnesota, 141 (8th)

Tyler Berger, Nebraska, 157 (5th)

TJ Dudley, Nebraska, 184, (3rd)

Eric Montoya, Nebraska, 133 (6th)

Aaron Studebaker, Nebraska, 197 (5th)

Bo Jordan, Ohio State, 174 (2nd)

Micah Jordan, Ohio State, 149 (4th)

Myles Martin, Ohio State, 184 (5th)

Kollin Moore, Ohio State, 197 (3rd)

Kyle Snyder, Ohio State, 285 (1st)

Nathan Tomasello, Ohio State, 133 (3rd)

Mark Hall, Penn State, 174 (1st)

Vincenzo Joseph, Penn State, 165 (1st)

Nick Nevills, Penn State, 285 (5th)

Bo Nickal, Penn State, 184 (1st)

Jason Nolf, Penn State, 157 (1st)

Zain Retherford, Penn State, 149 (1st)

Anthony Ashnault, Rutgers, 141 (6th)

Kenny Theobold, Rutgers, 149 (7th)

Isaac Jordan, Wisconsin, 165 (4th)

Connor Medbery, Wisconsin, 285 (2nd)