Matthew Phillips and Griffen Outhouse named co-winners of the 2016-17 National Bank Financial Most Valuable Player award.


Victoria, BC- The Victoria Royals’ 2016-17 regular season was acknowledged at the club’s sixth annual Awards Ceremony on Sunday afternoon at the Save-On-Foods Memorial Centre.


Cliff Lequesne, from 100.3 The Q!, hosted the event that saw the organization hand out 10 awards in total and celebrate the personal achievements of the Royals’ players, both on and off the ice.


Forward Matthew Phillips and netminder Griffen Outhouse were both chosen as the team’s most valuable players, and took home the National Bank Financial MVP award. Phillips finished as the first Victoria Royal to record 50 goals in a single season and with the fourth most markers in the Canadian Hockey League. Outhouse led the CHL in games played (63), recorded the second most wins (34), saves (1829), and shots faced (1998).


Phillips was presented with the Mayfair Optometric Top Scorer Award as he finished the year with 90 points (50g-40a). The Calgary, AB native was also named the Keg Fan’s Choice award winner, which was chosen by a vote on Phillips capped off his night as the recipient for the 2 Burley Men Hardest Worker award.


Chaz Reddekopp took home the Wilson’s Transportation Top Defenceman award after he finished the season as the club’s top scoring blueliner with 43 points (10g-33a) in 51 contests.


Ryan Gagnon was named the winner of the Pepsi Unsung Hero award, while rookie Mitchell Prowse received the Live Virtual Help Desk Scholastic Player of the Year award.


Jared Dmytriw was the recipient of the Investors Group Community Service award. The Wallace Driving School Most Dedicated Player award was given to Scott Walford.


Kaid Oliver, a 2000-born forward, took home the Ron Neal Rookie of the Year award.


The Royals will kick off the 2017 WHL Playoffs in Everett with Game’s 1 and 2 on Friday, March 24th and Saturday, March 25th respectively. Victoria will then travel back home for Game’s 3 and 4 on Tuesday, March 28th and Wednesday, March 29th.