Kamloops, BC—The nominees have been announced for the Thompson Rivers University WolfPack major awards for 2016-17.

With the WolfPack’s athletics awards banquet set for next Thursday (Apr 13), the following athletes are being recognized.

Nominees for the Sports Task Force Athlete of the year:  Iuliia Pakhomenko (Donetsk, Ukraine) of women’s volleyball, Emma Piggin (Kamloops, BC) of women’s basketball along with swimmer Breena Rusnell (Fort McMurray, AB).


The male nominees are: Tyler Hodder (Fort McMurray, AB) of baseball,  Volodymyr Iegorov (Donetsk, Ukraine) from basketball,  and Ryan Glanville (Williams Lake, BC) of soccer.


Pakhomenko has won the Sports Task Force female athlete of the year the past two seasons. This award is based totally on outstanding performance on the field, court or pool during the season.


The finalists for the Doctor Roger H. Barnsley Student Athlete of the Year—which combines top academics and athletic performance are:  Rachel Lobay (Kelowna, BC) of cross country, basketball’s Michelle Bos (Surrey, BC) and volleyball’s Morgan Kolasa (Calgary, AB) on the female side.   Glanville, Mike Rouault (Vernon, BC) of basketball and Cole Keddie (Edmonton, AB) for the male.


The other major award is the Cliff Neufeld Leadership Award which goes to athletes who not only excel in their sport but also leads by example with their teammates and the community.


Nominees for the women are: Katie Harding (Salmon Arm, BC) of soccer, Nicole Phillps (Port Moody, BC) of cheerleading and Kendra Finch of volleyball (North Vancouver, BC).  Men’s nominees are Jagdeesh Uppal (Kamloops, BC) of swimming, cross country’s Conlan Sprickerhoff (Williams Lake, BC) and Tim Edge (Langley, BC) of volleyball.


And for ‘Newcomer of the year” the nominees are: Hodder of baseball, Justin Donaldson (Kamloops, BC) of men’s soccer, volleyball’s Anton Napolitano (Victoria, Australia) Derek Rhodes (Antioch, CA), Volleyball’s Abby Spratt (Calgary, AB), Cassie Morris (Kamloops, BC) of soccer and swimming’s Rusnell.


The awards will be handed out at an event at the Campus Activity Centre’s Grand Hall on Thursday (April 13).  There will also be a Directors Award and the WolfPack appreciation honors presented.


The ‘Pack will also recognize their graduating student-athletes: Pakhomenko, Kolasa, Julia Niemczewska (Calgary, AB) and Alina Sophizuk (Donetsk, Ukraine) of women’s volleyball, Iegorov of men’s basketball, Christa and Alesha Miller (Vernon, BC) of cross country,  Uppal of swimming, and Daniel Eikland Rod (Oz, Norway) of men’s volleyball.