The Canadian Lacrosse Association (CLA) and Ontario Junior ‘A’  Lacrosse League (OJALL) are excited to announce that the 2017 Minto Cup, Canada’s Junior A box lacrosse national championship, will be held in Brampton, Ontario, from August 17 to 29. The event was last held in the Flower City in 2009.
“When it was determined that Ontario was next in line to host the Minto Cup, one of Canada’s premier lacrosse championships, the City of Brampton very enthusiastically jumped on board, and the proposal to support the event was passed by City Council,” said Dean McLeod, OJALL commissioner .
This year’s games will be played at the historic Brampton Memorial Arena, which first opened its doors in 1950 and has witnessed its hometown Excelsiors capture many provincial and national championships over the years, including a Minto Cup in 1952 and for three straight years from 1957-1959.
“We’re excited to bring the Minto Cup to lacrosse fans in Brampton and help the host Excelsiors, the oldest club in the country, celebrate their 146th anniversary,” said Terry Rowland, Director of Marketing and Communications for the CLA. There are a lot of big lacrosse clubs in nearby communities, so we’re confident that the games will be well attended.”
“Sports is a celebration of commitment and teamwork, and it helps bring people together – athletes who compete, coaches, families and fans who support. We are excited to welcome the Minto Cup back to our city,” said Brampton Mayor Linda Jeffrey. “Lacrosse has a rich history in our city and Brampton hosting this high-caliber national tournament is significant for the sporting industry locally and across Canada.”
Four of the best Junior A lacrosse teams in the country will compete for the historic Minto Cup trophy, which was first awarded in 1901 and was officially designated as the Junior ‘A’ lacrosse championship of Canada in 1937.
As the host province, Ontario receives two births in the tournament, which will be filled by the OJALL finalists, while the challengers from the British Columbia Junior ‘A’ Lacrosse League and the Rocky Mountain Lacrosse League, which has teams in both Alberta and Saskatchewan, will each send their league champion.
“We can’t wait to welcome the Canadian lacrosse community back to Brampton for this event,” added McLeod. “I’m confident that everyone involved in planning and execution will help make the 2017 edition of the Minto Cup a memorable one for all of the athletes and fans.”